As we pray we usually have a timeline in place and want things to happen in that order. The good news is that God is rarely early and never late, but His timing is perfect. He knows the full picture and all that needs to be in alignment for His will to take place.

When I think about how we thought that God wanted us to move and sell our home and so we put it on the market for a year. The reality was that our home was our dream home and had all that we were looking for in a new home and God’s plan was to help us to reduce debt and reduce payments so that we could stay in our current home, or as I have put it in other stories, my dream God’s Way. The house never sold and I had learned while it was on the market I couldn’t/shouldn’t refinance. At the end of the year when we pulled the house off the market, we were able to refinance at a rate that wasn’t available earlier and received incredible blessings and savings by the grace of God through the process. God’s provision is incredible. God’s plans are even better than our plans. God’s timing is perfect because He is perfect and omniscient.

We also see in the story of Lazarus that God’s plans are better and even though the people’s plans and expectations might have been good, God’s were even better. People wanted Jesus to come and heal Lazarus, but God’s plans was greater produced greater fruit for His purpose when He did better than heal Lazarus, He rose Lazarus from the dead.

Yet when He heard that Lazarus was sick, He stayed where He was two more days. – John 11:6

God’s work in us is out of love because He loves us so much that He desires that we have a life that is complete and lacking nothing. He loves us so much that He gave His one and only Son so that if we would believe in Him, we could find and have eternal life with Him. His timing is perfect! Don’t think that because of timing God didn’t hear you or doesn’t care because those are just lies of the devil. There will be times in our lives when God needs to do something else, sometimes bigger and sometimes impacting even more people and it takes a bit longer than we expect or desire. God’s plans are bigger and better than ours and aren’t just life changing, but world changing.

If we consider Lazarus and what the rest of the story would have been like had Jesus shown up and healed him. Would it have had the same impact for the kingdom of God as the story of Lazarus being resurrected from the dead? Not likely. We even see that others pursue after Jesus because they have heard about the resurrection power of God.

17Many in the crowd had seen Jesus call Lazarus from the tomb, raising him from the dead, and they were telling others about it. 18That was the reason so many went out to meet him—because they had heard about this miraculous sign. 19Then the Pharisees said to each other, “There’s nothing we can do. Look, everyone has gone after him!” (John 12:17-19)

So what are you in need of today? What are trusting God for? What are you asking God for? Be patient and persistent as you continue to call on and ask God. Let your faith be strong and bold and courageous and don’t give up.

God’s got great plans for you and His timing is perfect!


Today’s Devotional is from Os Hillman’s Today God Is First

God-Inspired Delays

Yet when He heard that Lazarus was sick, He stayed where He was two more days. – John 11:6


Today’s Reading: Discipleship Journal’s Book-at-a-Time Reading Plan

Day 152 of 349


Heavenly Father,
I thank You Lord for Your perfect timing. I am thankful that You don’t give me what I want when I want, but You do give me what I need when I need it. Lord, I put all of my
hope and trust in You. This is the day that You have made so I will rejoice and be glad in it. Lord, help me I pray to hold onto Your promises. Help me Lord to not give up nor give in but to be patient in anticipation of all that You are doing in preparation for the work You have in store for me. Help me Lord to walk in the confidence and hope and trust in You needed to make it through today and may my thoughts, words, and actions bring You praise, honor, and glory in Jesus’ name. Amen.

5 thoughts on “God’s timing is perfect!

  1. Good comments. I sometimes feel abandon and faith is difficult as i suffer each day. I sometimes see hope. There are many stories from the bible. It is harder to find people where trust and faith has been a good option. I would like to read some stories where waiting did result in a perfect solution. How ever I thank you for the page.

    Like

    1. Thank you Greg for visiting and your feedback. I have had a few times where I was feeling really down but God helped me through them and revealed hope and healing through forgiveness. I had to forgive others to find the freedom from bitterness, anger, rejection, … and coming out the other side my faith was built up and I wouldn’t give it away if I was asked if I had to do it all over again, only because it allows me to share the hope and truth and freedom that is available when I run into people suffering through very similar situations. Once the perfect solution appears, I should be able to share stories about how waiting produced good. (in progress…waiting…asking…seeking…knocking…waiting)

      Hope you have a blessed day.
      Phil

      Like

Leave a Reply, love to hear from you...

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.