Day 4: You know where you are headed but what to do when you are in the midst of fog?


This morning as I went out to walk the dogs all was clear as we headed out but by the time I was going to head home, it made me wonder in relation to where things are at and what’s going on if there might be a parallel. It was foggy and the question came to mind, how do you respond when you can’t see because of the fog around you? Do you slow down and keep moving? Do you stop to make sure you are heading in the right direction? Do you keep going full tilt with the risk you may miss a turn or end up on the wrong road or off the road completely?

I consider words from last night’s bible study about how Jesus said “I am the light” and how at our table we spoke about even in the Old Testament how God led the Israelites by day with a cloud and at night with fire but if they stopped, they would make camp until it was time to move again. The fog that wasn’t moving this morning and kept getting thicker as I was making my way home caused me to pause and consider if the fog outside is mirroring the fog of uncertainty on the current journey and so I need to wait rather than try and rush things. I know where I am going, similar to how they knew they were to head into the promised land. I know that I will go in, no matter what others say so that I walk by faith and trusting in God rather than allowing others (like the 10 spies who were fear mongers) who would try to keep me from moving forward and be able to enter in (just like Caleb and Joshua got to).

So what does that mean for today? How can I make the most of my time today? What will be the best use of my time before I have my afternoon meeting and evening meeting? What better way to find out or ask than to turn to God’s Word.


One Year Bible Plan https://www.bible.com/reading-plans/42519-one-year-bible-plan

Today’s Reading:

My Notes:

We need to remember that God’s Word is a light unto our feet and a lamp unto our path, along as He is near, we have nothing to fear with Him right besides us. Don’t limit your insight into God’s Word to my notes but choose to use the links above and hear directly from God in relations to where you are at today. Take the time, make the time, to hear from God and allow Him to lead and guide you. God’s Word is active and alive, sharper than a double-edged sword, able to cut through the noise and the confusion and get right to the point.

Numbers 22: Balaam and the Talking Donkey

Navigating the Fog: Seeking God’s Guidance

In the midst of uncertainty and fog, it’s crucial to seek God’s guidance and discern His will. Just as Balaam encountered an unexpected obstacle on his journey—the speaking donkey—we may encounter unexpected challenges in our pursuit of God’s plan for our lives. Despite Balaam’s initial reluctance, he eventually submitted to God’s direction. When faced with unclear paths or obstacles, we must trust that God will provide clarity and guidance, even if it comes in unexpected ways.

"Trust in the LORD with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways submit to him, and he will make your paths straight" (Proverbs 3:5-6). 

We should take time to pray and seek God’s guidance, knowing that He will illuminate the path we should take.


  • Balak Summons Balaam
    • 20That night God came to Balaam and said, “Since these men have come to summon you, go with them, but do only what I tell you.”
  • Balaam’s Donkey
    • ‘When the donkey saw the angel of the Lord, it lay down under Balaam, and he was angry and beat it with his staff. Then the Lord opened the donkey’s mouth, and it said to Balaam, “What have I done to you to make you beat me these three times?” Balaam answered the donkey, “You have made a fool of me! If only I had a sword in my hand, I would kill you right now.” The donkey said to Balaam, “Am I not your own donkey, which you have always ridden, to this day? Have I been in the habit of doing this to you?” “No,” he said. Then the Lord opened Balaam’s eyes, and he saw the angel of the Lord standing in the road with his sword drawn. So he bowed low and fell facedown. The angel of the Lord asked him, “Why have you beaten your donkey these three times? I have come here to oppose you because your path is a reckless one before me. The donkey saw me and turned away from me these three times. If it had not turned away, I would certainly have killed you by now, but I would have spared it.” Balaam said to the angel of the Lord, “I have sinned. I did not realize you were standing in the road to oppose me. Now if you are displeased, I will go back.” The angel of the Lord said to Balaam, “Go with the men, but speak only what I tell you.” So Balaam went with Balak’s officials. ‘

Numbers 23: Balaam’s First Oracle

Steadfast in Uncertainty: Faithfulness to God’s Word

When surrounded by uncertainty, it’s essential to remain steadfast in faith and obedience to God’s Word. Balaam, despite being offered riches and honor, remained faithful to deliver the message God gave him. Similarly, when we face temptations or pressures to deviate from God’s will, we must stand firm in our faith and obedience. We can find strength and assurance in God’s promises, knowing that He is faithful to fulfill His word.

"God is not human, that he should lie, not a human being, that he should change his mind. Does he speak and then not act? Does he promise and not fulfill?" (Numbers 23:19). 

As we navigate through uncertainty, let us cling to God’s promises and remain obedient to His will, trusting that He will guide us through the fog.


  • Balaam’s First Message
    • ‘When the donkey saw the angel of the Lord, it lay down under Balaam, and he was angry and beat it with his staff. Then the Lord opened the donkey’s mouth, and it said to Balaam, “What have I done to you to make you beat me these three times?” Balaam answered the donkey, “You have made a fool of me! If only I had a sword in my hand, I would kill you right now.” The donkey said to Balaam, “Am I not your own donkey, which you have always ridden, to this day? Have I been in the habit of doing this to you?” “No,” he said. Then the Lord opened Balaam’s eyes, and he saw the angel of the Lord standing in the road with his sword drawn. So he bowed low and fell facedown. The angel of the Lord asked him, “Why have you beaten your donkey these three times? I have come here to oppose you because your path is a reckless one before me. The donkey saw me and turned away from me these three times. If it had not turned away, I would certainly have killed you by now, but I would have spared it.” Balaam said to the angel of the Lord, “I have sinned. I did not realize you were standing in the road to oppose me. Now if you are displeased, I will go back.” The angel of the Lord said to Balaam, “Go with the men, but speak only what I tell you.” So Balaam went with Balak’s officials. ‘
  • Balaam’s Second Message
    • ‘Then he spoke his message: “Arise, Balak, and listen; hear me, son of Zippor. God is not human, that he should lie, not a human being, that he should change his mind. Does he speak and then not act? Does he promise and not fulfill? I have received a command to bless; he has blessed, and I cannot change it. “No misfortune is seen in Jacob, no misery observed in Israel. The Lord their God is with them; the shout of the King is among them. God brought them out of Egypt; they have the strength of a wild ox. There is no divination against Jacob, no evil omens against Israel. It will now be said of Jacob and of Israel, ‘See what God has done!’ The people rise like a lioness; they rouse themselves like a lion that does not rest till it devours its prey and drinks the blood of its victims.” ‘
  • Balaam’s Third Message

Numbers 24: Balaam’s Second and Third Oracles

Praise in the Fog: Worship Amidst Uncertainty

In times of uncertainty, we must maintain a posture of worship and praise before God. Despite the challenges Balaam faced, he continued to offer praises to God and speak forth His blessings. Likewise, when we find ourselves in the midst of foggy circumstances, we should not allow fear or doubt to overshadow our worship. Instead, let us lift our voices in praise and adoration, acknowledging God’s sovereignty and power over every situation.

"I will extol the LORD at all times; his praise will always be on my lips" (Psalm 34:1). 

Through worship, we align our hearts with God’s purposes and invite His presence to illuminate our path. As we lift up praises in the midst of uncertainty, we can trust that God will guide us and reveal His plan for our lives.


  • Balaam’s Third Message (cont’d)
    • ‘and he spoke his message: “The prophecy of Balaam son of Beor, the prophecy of one whose eye sees clearly, the prophecy of one who hears the words of God, who sees a vision from the Almighty, who falls prostrate, and whose eyes are opened: “How beautiful are your tents, Jacob, your dwelling places, Israel! “Like valleys they spread out, like gardens beside a river, like aloes planted by the Lord, like cedars beside the waters. Water will flow from their buckets; their seed will have abundant water. “Their king will be greater than Agag; their kingdom will be exalted. “God brought them out of Egypt; they have the strength of a wild ox. They devour hostile nations and break their bones in pieces; with their arrows they pierce them. Like a lion they crouch and lie down, like a lioness—who dares to rouse them? “May those who bless you be blessed and those who curse you be cursed!” ‘
  • Balaam’s Fourth Message
    • ‘Then he spoke his message: “The prophecy of Balaam son of Beor, the prophecy of one whose eye sees clearly, the prophecy of one who hears the words of God, who has knowledge from the Most High, who sees a vision from the Almighty, who falls prostrate, and whose eyes are opened: “I see him, but not now; I behold him, but not near. A star will come out of Jacob; a scepter will rise out of Israel. He will crush the foreheads of Moab, the skulls of all the people of Sheth. Edom will be conquered; Seir, his enemy, will be conquered, but Israel will grow strong. A ruler will come out of Jacob and destroy the survivors of the city.” ‘
  • Balaam’s Fifth Message
    • ‘Then Balaam saw Amalek and spoke his message: “Amalek was first among the nations, but their end will be utter destruction.” ‘
  • Balaam’s Sixth Message
    • ‘Then he saw the Kenites and spoke his message: “Your dwelling place is secure, your nest is set in a rock; yet you Kenites will be destroyed when Ashur takes you captive.” ‘
  • Balaam’s Seventh Message
    • ‘Then he spoke his message: “Alas! Who can live when God does this? Ships will come from the shores of Cyprus; they will subdue Ashur and Eber, but they too will come to ruin.” ‘

In applying these insights to your daily life, remember to:

  • Seek God’s guidance through prayer and reflection.
  • Remain faithful and obedient to God’s Word, even in the face of challenges.
  • Worship and praise God, trusting in His sovereignty and guidance.

Today is a day that thanks to Jesus is filled with inspiration. So let us make sure we receive the gift of grace through Jesus by faith in Him and step up and out to accomplish all the good works He has prepared in advance for us to accomplish. If you haven’t received Jesus as your Lord and Savior, why not choose today to be the day your life is transformed and you become a new creation and start the journey of becoming everything God created, purposed, and planned for you to be?

Let’s pray:

Dear God, I admit I am a sinner and need your forgiveness; I believe that Jesus Christ died in my place paying the penalty for my sins. I am willing right now to turn from my sin and accept Jesus Christ as my personal Saviour and Lord. I commit myself to you and ask you to send the Holy Spirit into my life, to fill me and take control, and to help me become the kind of person you want me to be. Thank you Father for loving me. In Jesus' name. Amen

Comments

Leave a Reply, love to hear from you…

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.