Got Purpose

Do you have purpose?


What drives you? What makes you tick? What gives you purpose? What is your purpose? Do you realize you were created on purpose? Do you realize you were created for a purpose? Have you ever read the purpose driven life? Have you ever visited their website? Ever considered why you are alive? Ever asked does your life matter? Ever questioned what on earth am I here for? These questions get covered in Rick Warren’s book The Purpose Driven Life. You aren’t an accident!

Consider the following verses:

Trust in your money and down you go! But the godly flourish like leaves in spring.

–from Proverbs 11:28 (NLT)

and

7“Blessed is the man who trusts in the LORD
And whose trust is the LORD.

8“For he will be like a tree planted by the water,
That extends its roots by a stream
And will not fear when the heat comes;
But its leaves will be green,
And it will not be anxious in a year of drought
Nor cease to yield fruit.

–from Jeremiah 17:78 (NLT)

It’s not about you! It’s all about God! “You were born by His purpose for His purpose! It is so much bigger than ourselves! We have a much greater purpose than self.

Will you trust Him when you are on the mountain top of success? Will you trust Him in the valleys of struggle or despair? Will you trust Him in the midst of the storms and waves? Does it matter how high or how low live brings you on how much you will depend on God? Can you take hold of John 16:33 and James 1:2-4? Will you trust God even when you don’t know what’s next? I remember back in February of 2013 getting the message to leave the company I had worked for since I had graduated from school and was nearly complete my 19th year but I didn’t know where I was to go. Would I get out of the boat and be obedient? Would I allow the waves and the storm to keep me in the boat? Would I step out in faith? Would I start the journey to who knows where? Imagine praying “God if Microsoft if the boat and You want me to get out, can you please tell me what side?” Knowing I only wanted to do what He wanted to do and didn’t want to go or pick something that wasn’t His plan or His will or His purpose. Imagine relatively shortly there after hearing your cell make the “you’ve gotten a text sound” and it was a tweet that I paraphrased as “get out of the boat“. I still didn’t know where I was to go but I knew I was to go. I came home that night, updated my linkedin profile, updated my resume and started applying for jobs. I had a lot of interviews and it wasn’t till April when the right job appeared and it wasn’t till May when I started the second half of my career. I had to wait upon the Lord and He renewed my strength! That last day of my old job, my reading was in Job and what caught my heart and mind was Job 42:12 which paraphrased says “and the second half of his life was twice as good as the first half.” I remember telling a friend over lunch together and he didn’t think that is what it said till I showed him the numbers from Job 1 and compared them to Job 42. What if I hadn’t of listened? What if I hadn’t of started? What if I was more focused on self and comfort of staying in the boat? Consider the miracles and testimonies that I would have missed out on. God created me and you on purpose! God created me and you for His purpose! What will you focus on? God’s timing is perfect! None of the other jobs were the right job and had I just left my old job the job that God provided wasn’t available yet and didn’t exist till April. We need to wait upon the Lord and trust in Him with all our heart, mind, and strength.

So where are you at today? Don’t allow a setback to get you down, take hold of something Willie Jolley speaks “A setback is just a setup for a comeback!” When we remember that God works it all for good and for His glory, we don’t have to worry when there are setbacks or disappointments, we can just lean harder into God and trust in Him! Never lose sight of the fact that…

Don’t copy the behavior and customs of this world, but let God transform you into a new person by changing the way you think. Then you will learn to know God’s will for you, which is good and pleasing and perfect.

–from Romans 12:2

That’s right, God’s will for you and for me are good, pleasing, and perfect!


God’s Purposes For You — Day 184: Bible In One Year 2017

Devotional, Proverbs 16:8-17, Acts 22:22-30, Acts 23:1-11, 2 Kings 6:24-33, 2 Kings 7, 2 Kings 8:1-15

https://www.bible.com/reading-plans/3420-bible-in-one-year-2017/day/184


  1. God orders your steps through human plans … Proverbs 16:8-17

  2. God’s orders your steps in spite of human opposition … Acts 22:22-23:11

    • The crowd
    • The commander
    • The court
    • The crises
  3. God’s orders your steps through human agents … 2 Kings 6:24-8:15

Leave a Reply, love to hear from you...

