Do you realize there is strength in your weakness?


Do you realize there is anointing in your weakness? Do you realize that God’s strength is made perfect in our weakness? Do you realize that even in your weakness you can be used by God? When we realize our weakness then we are able to lean harder into God! When we realize our weakness then when we are called we don’t assume we can do it in our own strength but we depend on God to help us through it! When we realize we are called despite our weakness, we can walk it out trusting in God!

The best example I have of this is when I felt God first call me to join the board of our homeowners association and then even more so when He called me to be the president of the association. It was definitely outside of my comfort zone and it was interesting my response too. At the men’s conference when I felt the call to join the board I received it and started my walk. When God then after a year and a bit called me to step up and be president, I had more excuses why I shouldn’t or couldn’t do it! I was well aware of my weaknesses but God still called me and wanted me to step up! He kept calling to the point when I got the ultimatum of “you will be president or you will be nothing, you choose“. Are you facing a situation where God is calling you to step up or step in? Are you facing a situation where God is calling you but you don’t feel qualified? Trust God! If He calls you to it, He will be faithful and true and get you through it! I know in my case, I was put in a situation where I needed to do things I had never done before, and so I leaned on God and asked Him for help in each of them! He always showed up and helped me! He helped me with hiring situations! He helped me with financial situations! He helped me with wisdom around business decisions! He provided me with information that was beyond me in order to reveal His strength in my weakness! His perfect strength knew that He could do it if I would be willing and trusting enough to step up and step into what He was asking me to do!

Where are you at today? What is God asking you to do? What calling is He putting on your life? Moses knew his weakness and see how God used Him? Peter knew his weakness and see how God used Him? David knew his weakness and see how God used Him? See how they all trusted and leaned on God! Be humble and ask God into the situation! Be humble and allow God to guide your steps! Be humble and realize you do have weaknesses! Be humble and trust God to complete the work He has to do in you!

Your weakness can be anointed if you will trust God with it!


Even Your Weakness is Anointed — Day 154: Bible In One Year 2017

Devotional, Psalm 69:13-28, Acts 1:1-22, 2 Samuel 3:22-39, 2 Samuel 4, 2 Samuel 5:1-5


Today’s devotional speaks on this subject through these points…(from Day 154: Bible In One Year 2017)

  1.  Anointed in times of trouble … Psalm 69:13-28

    • When you are in trouble or in a position of great weakness:

      Know God’s great love for you

      David prays, ‘In your great love, O God, answer me’ (Psalm 69:13). ‘Answer me, O Lord, out of the goodness of your love; in your great mercy turn to me’ (v.16).

      Cry out to God in your heart

      Be honest with God. Tell him what you are really feeling: ‘Rescue me from the mire, do not let me sink’ (v.14). ‘Do not hide your face from your servant; answer me quickly, for I am in trouble’ (v.17).

  2. Anointed by the Holy Spirit … Acts 1:1-22

    • Through the rest of the passage we see a series of examples of people who have been filled by the Holy Spirit and been his messengers across the world. The wonderful news is that you are included in the list!

      David

      The Holy Spirit speaks through people, including David (v.16). Peter gives examples of how the Holy Spirit spoke through David in the psalms – even predicting the replacement of Judas the betrayer (vv.15–20).

      Jesus

      Supremely, the Holy Spirit anointed Jesus. Luke tells us that Jesus gave ‘instructions through the Holy Spirit to the apostles he had chosen’ (v.2).

      In particular, ‘On one occasion, while he was eating with them, he gave them this command: “Do not leave Jerusalem, but wait for the gift my Father promised, which you have heard me speak about. For John baptised with water, but in a few days you will be baptised with the Holy Spirit”’ (vv.4–5).

      Apostles

      Though in many ways they were weak, the apostles would be anointed by the Holy Spirit for the task that lay ahead. The word ‘apostle’ is used in several different ways in the New Testament. In the wider sense of a person who is sent by God, it clearly applies to many people in the past and also today (see 1 Corinthians 12:28–29). In a narrower sense, there are people who have what might be described as an ‘apostolic’ leadership gift (Mark 3:14).

      However, here it is used in the narrowest sense of the word. They were a special group of people who were uniquely qualified by Jesus. The Holy Spirit spoke through them in a unique way. These were the apostles whom Jesus had chosen and to whom he gave special instructions through the Holy Spirit (Acts 1:2).

      Judas had originally been part of this group. Now they were looking for a replacement. Peter lays down the qualifications. They had to have been with Jesus throughout his ministry and to have received the necessary training (vv.21–22).

      You

      Jesus said, ‘In a few days you will be baptised with the Holy Spirit… youwill receive power when the Holy Spirit comes on you; and you will be my witnesses in Jerusalem, and in all Judea and Samaria, and to the ends of the earth’ (vv.5,8).

      On the day of Pentecost this was fulfilled and the apostle Peter made it clear that the promise was for ‘all whom the Lord our God will call’ (2:39). This includes you!

      The Holy Spirit comes to anoint and empower you – to help and guide you in every aspect of your life – not just the ‘spiritual’ parts. Everything you have belongs to God and he wants to be involved in all of your life. Through the Holy Spirit living within you God wants you to become like Jesus in all your thoughts, attitudes, words and actions. You are Jesus to the world.

  3. Anointed for leadership … 2 Samuel 3:22-5:5

    • In order to be leaders, we do not need to be perfect. David said, ‘… though I am the anointed king, I am weak’ (3:39). The history of David’s life in the Bible is a great testimony to both the anointing and weakness of David. He knew that he was far from perfect, and yet he also knew that God could still use him. He doesn’t dwell on his weakness, but rather turns the situation over to God (v.39). In spite of his weaknesses, God used him in extraordinary ways.

      This passage also reminds us that God used David throughout his life. We have already seen many examples of how God had used David as a leader for many years before he became king. Yet when he became king, David was still relatively young. Thereafter he continued to be used by God throughout a long and (mostly) successful reign: ‘David was thirty years old when he became king, and he reigned for forty years’ (5:4).

      The Lord said about David, ‘You shall shepherd my people Israel, and you shall become their ruler’ (v.2). Then, ‘all the elders… anointed David king over Israel’ (v.3). David became a leader full of integrity. He ‘shepherded them with integrity of heart; with skilful hands he led them’ (Psalm 78:72). David was the type of leader we desperately need today, in the church and in society – men and women with integrity of heart.

from Day 154: Bible In One Year 2017

 

This entry was posted in Morning Bible Reading.... Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply, love to hear from you...

