How big will you believe for? How big will you trust?


When I consider some of my prayers, I mean big prayers, I think to a prayer for my cousin who was in a coma after being hit by a transport truck while he was riding in a friend’s vehicle and asking God to heal him and bring him back to the family. Another big prayer took place the summer before I went back to school for my last year of university when I was praying for a wife – I didn’t want a girlfriend, I wanted a wife who I would be able to spend the rest of my life with and have a family with. Another big prayer was when I asked Jesus into my heart which transformed my life. Another big prayer was one of deliverance which stopped the anger/explosiveness when someone hit me in the head which happened as part of cleansing stream where the power of forgiveness broke the chains. Another big prayer was when I was at my first men’s retreat and asked God how He would have me get  involved in my community and He directed me to join the homeowners association board for the community I was living in. Another big prayer was for wisdom because God had called me to step up into the role as president and for me to do that I would need His wisdom and His power to make the right decisions to serve my community. Another big prayer was while I was driving and reflecting on the dreams of when I was 8 years old of having a horse – I prayed to God that if that was His will, could He find me a place within 20 minutes of the church. Another big prayer was if I would have a son or if I was to have 4 daughters as I felt a connection to Philip the evangelist and that morning God provided me with the story of the promised son Isaac as part of my morning reading. Another big prayer was one morning where God’s Word spoke to me about when Peter got out of the boat and walked on water – I prayed to God if this was a sign to change companies and change jobs – I remember asking if the current company was the boat and I was supposed to get out which side should I get out on (so I would know not only to get out of the boat but also where to move on to) and just as I was driving down the other side of the hill I have to drive over to get to work, my phone made the new text message and as I arrived at the stop sign, I looked and it was a tweet that said get out of the boat (it didn’t say which side which I took to mean I had to start the process rather than drive in and quit that day). Another big prayer was one about my taxes (it happened to be during a really sad and dark time of betrayal and lies by the team I was working on) and in addition to God taking care of the taxes, He delivered me from bitterness by helping me to forgive which broke the chains of lies, deception, anger, bitterness, frustration and replaced them with hope, love, truth, and so much joy.

It’s not always easy and sometimes we may stray rather than obey what God prompts us with. Sometimes it become a process for us to do what God desires. How far do you have to stray before you realize…

Do you pray? Will you believe that God is hearing what you are praying for? Will you believe that God is working in and through the circumstances for good? Will you hold on and believe that God is able to do exceedingly, abundantly more than we could ever ask or imagine? My cousin is alive, married, and still with us today! Believe! I will be celebrating 20 years of marriage this year with the girl God brought into my life and has blessed us with 3 incredible children and a life together. Believe! God removed the distractions of the world by moving me far from home and putting me right where He needed me so that I could have no excuses of how busy I was in order to draw closer to Him! Believe! I joined the board even when they offered me a position on one of the committees so that I could get part of my dues back, but I said I was supposed to join the board and God used that to get me to serve my community and set things up with new staff and other new plans to be able to provide fiduciary goods as well as great people! Believe! I have a son and because of that morning reading the name I had for a son when from Benjamin to Isaac and we have the promised son Isaac along with his two incredible sisters. Believe! After praying about the horse, God gave me an answer that was a sermon where they spoke that it is easier to steer a car that is moving and so we started looking and on the 21st house, we found Phil’s Farm where we live today and God has provided and blessed us as a family to get to live somewhere that shows His incredible creation daily! Believe!

Do you believe?

Jesus replied, “Truly I tell you, if you have faith and do not doubt, not only can you do what was done to the fig tree, but also you can say to this mountain, ‘Go, throw yourself into the sea,’ and it will be done. If you believe, you will receive whatever you ask for in prayer.” –from Matthew 21

So believe Him at His Word! Trust Him that He is good to His Word!

If you don’t believe, what would it take for you to believe?

Would it take a God sized situation that requires a God sized answer to prayer?


Pray God-Sized Prayer — Day 126: Bible In One Year 2017

Devotional, Psalm 57:1-6, John 4:43-54, John 5:1-15, Judges 4, Judges 5


1. Pray for mercy … Psalm 57:1-6

Are you facing a challenge or a problem? Will you cry out to God for mercy? Will you ask Him to help and step in? Will you be like David and trust Him?

1Have mercy on me, my God, have mercy on me,
for in you I take refuge.
I will take refuge in the shadow of your wings
until the disaster has passed.

2I cry out to God Most High,
to God, who vindicates me.
3He sends from heaven and saves me,
rebuking those who hotly pursue me—
God sends forth his love and his faithfulness.

4I am in the midst of lions;
I am forced to dwell among ravenous beasts—
men whose teeth are spears and arrows,
whose tongues are sharp swords.

5Be exalted, O God, above the heavens;
let your glory be over all the earth.

6They spread a net for my feet—
I was bowed down in distress.
They dug a pit in my path—
but they have fallen into it themselves.

–from Psalm 57

 

2. Pray for healing … John 4:43-5:15

Today’s devotional speaks to praying for healing as follows…

There are times in our lives when we are desperate for healing – either for others, or for ourselves. In this life our prayers for healing will not always be answered. Unanswered prayer can be a difficult and painful thing to wrestle with. But sometimes God does intervene miraculously to bring healing. We see here two examples of this, both coming about as a result of God-sized prayers:

Healing for others

The royal official begged Jesus to heal his son (4.47), who was on the brink of death.

‘Jesus put him off: “Unless you people are dazzled by a miracle, you refuse to believe”’ (v.48, MSG). But the official would not be put off: ‘Come down! It’s life or death for my son’ (v.49, MSG).

Jesus responded to the man’s faith. The man believed that if Jesus came he could heal his son. Jesus asked him to go one step further and believe that his words from miles away could heal his son. The man did believe. And Jesus performed the miracle – he heard the man’s God-sized prayer and healed his son. As a result, his whole household believed (v.53).

Healing for ourselves

Jesus went to a place where there were a multitude of people with disabilities; lame, blind and paralysed (5:3). This was a culture that saw handicap as a punishment from God. Such people were hidden away. But God has chosen the weak and the foolish of the world in order to confound the wise (1 Corinthians 1:27–28).

Jesus healed a man who had been an invalid for thirty-eight years (John 5:5). The man must have been desperate: he had been putting his hope in the healing powers of the waters of Bethesda, which would bubble up periodically, and it was thought that the first person in after the waters bubbled up would be healed. But this man had no one to help him get in first (v.7).

He had no friends, no close family. Nobody cared for him. He was alone and abandoned. Nobody loved him, but Jesus loved him.

Jesus says to him, as he says to each one of us, ‘Do you want to get well?’ (v.6). For thirty-eight years, this man had learned to survive as he was. Now he has to rise up, make choices, find new friends, find work and become responsible for his life.

Joyce Meyer writes of this incident that, in effect, Jesus said to the man, ‘Don’t just lie there, do something!’ She continues, ‘Being sexually abused for approximately fifteen years and growing up in a dysfunctional home left me lacking confidence and filled with shame. I wanted to have good things in my life, but I was stuck in emotional torment and despair.

‘Like the man in John 5, Jesus did not give me pity either. Jesus was actually very firm with me and He applied a lot of tough love, but His refusal to let me wallow in self-pity was a turning point in my life. I am not in the pit any longer. I now have a great life. If you will reject self-pity, actively look to God and do what He instructs you to do, you can have a great life too.’

–from Day 126: Bible In One Year 2017

 

3. Pray for leadership … Judges 4:1-5:31

Will you pray for those over you? Will pray for them to have God’s wisdom? Will you pray for their safety and blessings? Will you pray for them to walk in alignment and obedience to God’s will? Will you pray for godly leadership? Will you pray for your bosses? Will you pray for your government officials and leaders?


 

Leave a Reply, love to hear from you...

