The one thing

One thing remains…


 

He is the way, the truth, and the life! Faith, hope, and love! His love never fails, never gives up, never runs out on you!

The Saturday after Good Friday gives me time to reflect. Jesus was crucified and died, He was put in a tomb and guarded so that nobody could try to sneak His body out. He loves us so much that He would do only what God could do to pay the ultimate price in order to bridge the gap and provide forgiveness to all of us! All of us have missed the mark and all of us are in need of forgiveness! Sin is an archery term that means to miss the mark! Jesus fulfilled what was foretold centuries earlier! And tomorrow we celebrate that the tomb is empty, that Jesus conquered the grave, that He is now seated at the right hand of the Father. Have you asked Jesus into your heart? Have you allow Him a prominent place in your life? Have you given Him control? He is seated at the right hand of the Father interceding for us! Jesus is the way, the truth, and the life, nobody comes to the Father except thru Him! The Bible tells us that it’s exclusive way into heaven! We know that faith, hope, and love will last but that love is the greatest! Jesus’ love never fails, never gives up, never runs out on us!

Will you choose what is needed? Will you choose what is better? Don’t get trapped or tripped up by worry! Focus on the one thing!

But one thing I do: Forgetting what is behind and straining toward what is ahead, I press on toward the goal to win the prize of God’s heavenly calling in Christ Jesus.

— from Philippians 3:13-14

One thing have I asked of the LORD, that will I seek after: that I may dwell in the house of the LORD all the days of my life, to gaze upon the beauty of the LORD and to inquire in his temple.

–from Psalm 27:4

Jesus looked at him and loved him. “One thing you lack,” he said. “Go, sell everything you have and give to the poor, and you will have treasure in heaven. Then come, follow me.”

–from Mark 10:21

“Martha, Martha,” the LORD answered, “you are worried and upset about many things, but few things are needed-or indeed only one. Mary has chosen what is better, and it will not be taken away from her.”

–from Luke 10:41-42

He replied, “Whether he is a sinner or not, I don’t know. One thing I do know. I was blind but now I see!”

–from John 9:25

These verses speak to us about the one thing to do, the one thing to ask, the one thing lacking, the one thing that is necessary and the one thing I know!

Don’t lose hope because of worry! Don’t be tripped up because of busyness! Don’t get upset because of over things! Take a moment to consider the one thing! The most important thing! The one thing that is worth focusing on and needs our focus! Being with Jesus!


One Thing is Needed — Day 95: Bible In One Year 2017

Devotional, Psalm 41:7-13, Luke 10:25-42, Luke 11:1-4, Deuteronomy 2:24-37, Deuteronomy 3, Deuteronomy 4:1-14

1. The priority of his presence … Psalm 41:7-13

He will never leave us nor abandon us! He is Emmanuel, God with us! Because of this we can consider it pure joy when we face trials of many kinds! Because of this we can take heart when we face troubles of any kind since Jesus has overcome the world!

Even my close friend, someone I trusted, one who shared my bread, has turned against me. –from Psalm 41:9

“I am not referring to all of you; I know those I have chosen. But this is to fulfill this passage of Scripture: ‘He who shared my bread has turned against me.’ –from John 13:18

I know that you are pleased with me, for my enemy does not triumph over me. Because of my integrity you uphold me and set me in your presence forever. –from Psalm 41:11-12

2. The priorities of Jesus … Luke 10:25-11:4

When you are challenged or questioned, do you follow the example of Jesus and them the question what do you think?

“What is written in the Law?” he replied. “How do you read it?” –from Luke 10:26

“Which of these three do you think was a neighbor to the man who fell into the hands of robbers?” –from Luke 10:36

We need to love like Jesus loved! We need to first love God and also love our neighbors! Everyone you come in contact with is your neighbors, it’s not a limited list! Let’s not be looking for reasons or excuses why we shouldn’t help or get involved! Don’t allow being busy to keep you from loving and doing what God has for you. Don’t be worried about being polluted by reaching out to give a helping hand. Don’t be afraid to take a risk to do what is right! Let’s see people as Jesus does and have compassion on them! Let’s look for practical ways to make a difference! Let’s be willing to be generous and give of our time, money and efforts to glorify God!

Let’s turn around the question “who is my neighbor” and transform it to “who can I make my neighbor”! Let’s act out our lives in love! There shouldn’t be any barriers that love cannot break down! Let’s build up love and relationships!

Do you see need? Do you see people in need? How can you show compassion on them today? How can you do something practical to make a difference not out of pity but out of love? Remember when the disciples were walking into the temple and the guy who had been placed at the gate because he was lame was there and he was begging for money? Do you remember what happened and what was said?

6Then Peter said, “Silver or gold I do not have, but what I do have I give you. In the name of Jesus Christ of Nazareth, walk.” 7Taking him by the right hand, he helped him up, and instantly the man’s feet and ankles became strong. –from Acts 3

Even when we think we don’t have something to give, we have Jesus in us and with us! Ask Him how we can make a difference! Ask how e can use our time, efforts, and resources to make a difference to them! Faith without works is dead, so let’s be active so that in all we say and do, we glorify our Father in heaven in Jesus’ name!

Do you know how to pray? Do you know what to pray? Consider Jesus’ teaching:

“ ‘Father, your kingdom come.  3 Give us each day our daily bread. 4 Forgive us our sins, for we also forgive everyone who sins against us. And lead us not into temptation. ’ ” — from Luke 11

Do you see the pattern of prayer? It’s about having a relationship with Jesus! It’s about making it your top priority! I remember years ago having the aha moment and needing to put first things first! When I made the list of my priorities it changed the way I was living because I made myself life in alignment with those priorities. Depending if you want to start with 0 or 1, God is in the first slot. I then put my wife in the next position! I then put my family in the next position! Everything else was after that. If it is a priority and if someone were to audit your life, would your life align to your priorities? If not, why not? If not, is there anything you could do to change that? What would it take?

3. The priority of relationship … Deuteronomy 2:24-4:14

7What other nation is so great as to have their gods near them the way the Lord our God is near us whenever we pray to him? –from Deuteronomy 4

6Observe them carefully, for this will show your wisdom and understanding to the nations, who will hear about all these decrees and say, “Surely this great nation is a wise and understanding people.” –from Deuteronomy 4

9Only be careful, and watch yourselves closely so that you do not forget the things your eyes have seen or let them fade from your heart as long as you live. Teach them to your children and to their children after them. –from Deuteronomy 4

13He declared to you his covenant, the Ten Commandments, which he commanded you to follow and then wrote them on two stone tablets. –from Deuteronomy 4

For through him we both have access to the Father by one Spirit. –Ephesians 2:18

Leave a Reply, love to hear from you...

