What comes to mind when you think ROI?


Return On Investment…When do you consider this? What is a good return? It gets defined as “profit from an investment as a percentage of the amount invested”. So what increase would make it good? Do you realize it matters what you invest in? Do you realize the difference between good soil in which to plant and rocky soil or hard soil or soil with weeds and the impact on your return? When you think of ROI, what areas of your life do you think this applies to? Is it only finances? Is it also relationships? Is it also your time? Is it also your work? Anything where you consider ROI?

Consider your existing investments and the return that is coming from it…


A Hundredfold Return … Day 89: Bible In One Year 2017

Devotional, Psalm 38:13-22, Luke 8:1-18, Numbers 27:12-23, Numbers 28, Numbers 29:1-11

1. Personal Saviour … Psalm 38:13-22

22Come quickly to help me, my Lord and my Savior.

(A)sk

15 Lord, I wait for you; you will answer, Lord my God. 16For I said, “Do not let them gloat or exalt themselves over me when my feet slip.”

(C)onfess

18I confess my iniquity; I am troubled by my sin.

(T)rust

15 Lord, I wait for you; you will answer, Lord my God.

21 Lord, do not forsake me; do not be far from me, my God. 22Come quickly to help me, my Lord and my Savior.

2. Great Sower … Luke 8:1-18

1After this, Jesus traveled about from one town and village to another, proclaiming the good news of the kingdom of God. The Twelve were with him, 2and also some women who had been cured of evil spirits and diseases: Mary (called Magdalene) from whom seven demons had come out; 3Joanna the wife of Chuza, the manager of Herod’s household; Susanna; and many others. These women were helping to support them out of their own means.

4While a large crowd was gathering and people were coming to Jesus from town after town, he told this parable: 5“A farmer went out to sow his seed. As he was scattering the seed, some fell along the path; it was trampled on, and the birds ate it up. 6Some fell on rocky ground, and when it came up, the plants withered because they had no moisture. 7Other seed fell among thorns, which grew up with it and choked the plants. 8Still other seed fell on good soil. It came up and yielded a crop, a hundred times more than was sown.

11 “This is the meaning of the parable: The seed is the word of God.

Hard-hearted

2Those along the path are the ones who hear, and then the devil comes and takes away the word from their hearts, so that they may not believe and be saved.

Faint-hearted

13Those on the rocky ground are the ones who receive the word with joy when they hear it, but they have no root. They believe for a while, but in the time of testing they fall away.

Half-hearted

14The seed that fell among thorns stands for those who hear, but as they go on their way they are choked by life’s worries, riches and pleasures, and they do not mature.

Whole-hearted

15But the seed on good soil stands for those with a noble and good heart, who hear the word, retain it, and by persevering produce a crop.

How you respond to the Word of God matters…

18Therefore consider carefully how you listen. Whoever has will be given more; whoever does not have, even what they think they have will be taken from them.”

3. Chief Shepherd … Numbers 27:12-29:11

16“May the Lord, the God who gives breath to all living things, appoint someone over this community 17to go out and come in before them, one who will lead them out and bring them in, so the Lord’s people will not be like sheep without a shepherd.”

18So the Lord said to Moses, “Take Joshua son of Nun, a man in whom is the spirit of leadership, and lay your hand on him.

–from Numbers 27

When he saw the crowds, he had compassion on them, because they were harassed and helpless, like sheep without a shepherd. –Matthew 9:36

2 Be shepherds of God’s flock that is under your care, watching over them—not because you must, but because you are willing, as God wants you to be; not pursuing dishonest gain, but eager to serve; 3 not lording it over those entrusted to you, but being examples to the flock. 4 And when the Chief Shepherd appears, you will receive the crown of glory that will never fade away. –Peter 5:2-4

11 “I am the good shepherd. The good shepherd lays down his life for the sheep. 12 The hired hand is not the shepherd and does not own the sheep. So when he sees the wolf coming, he abandons the sheep and runs away. Then the wolf attacks the flock and scatters it. 13 The man runs away because he is a hired hand and cares nothing for the sheep.

14 “I am the good shepherd; I know my sheep and my sheep know me—15 just as the Father knows me and I know the Father—and I lay down my life for the sheep. 16 I have other sheep that are not of this sheep pen. I must bring them also. They too will listen to my voice, and there shall be one flock and one shepherd. –John 10:11-16

20 Now may the God of peace, who through the blood of the eternal covenant brought back from the dead our Lord Jesus, that great Shepherd of the sheep, 21 equip you with everything good for doing his will, and may he work in us what is pleasing to him, through Jesus Christ, to whom be glory for ever and ever. Amen. –Hebrews 13:20-21

Today’s reading from Numbers 28-29 continues to point to Jesus!

17 These are a shadow of the things that were to come; the reality, however, is found in Christ. –Colossians 2:17

 

 

 

Leave a Reply, love to hear from you...

