Let’s be on the lookout!


Do you see something? Did you say something? When you see something, will you say something? Don’t keep silent! Speak out so that people can be forewarned!

Do you want to say nothing and then be responsible for what happens to someone else who could have been saved or rescued?

Will you say something so that they are at least aware of what’s going on and then if they choose to not respond or answer then at least it isn’t on your head?

We are to be watchmen! We are to sound the alarm! We are to stand in the gap!

Will you speak into the lives of the people around you so that right and wrong are known?

Will you speak into the lives of people around you so that they will be warned if or when they are going down the wrong path?

Hear this warning:

‘This is what you are saying: “Our offenses and sins weigh us down, and we are wasting away because of them. How then can we live?” ’

‘As surely as I live, declares the Sovereign Lord, I take no pleasure in the death of the wicked, but rather that they turn from their ways and live. Turn! Turn from your evil ways! Why will you die, people of Israel?’

‘If someone who is righteous disobeys, that personʼs former righteousness will count for nothing. And if someone who is wicked repents, that personʼs former wickedness will not bring condemnation. The righteous person who sins will not be allowed to live even though they were formerly righteous.’

–from Ezekiel 33

So will you turn back to God? Will you not walk away from God? Will you humbly come before God and repent of the wicked things? Will you stick close to God so that you won’t lose your reward?

God is  just! His will is that nobody would perish but rather that all would repent and be saved! The decision how to respond to God’s offer is in our hands!

The earth is the Lord’s and everything in it! We need to be living our lives in a way of a humble servant! We need to be good stewards of what God has given us so that we provide a good return to Him! Let’s not be selfish and try to do everything for ourselves! Let’s consider how we can take what God has given us in order to multiply it and so that many others can be pointed back to God and they can be saved! It’s not all about stuff! It’s not all about control! It’s not all about receiving! It’s better to give than to receive! So let’s walk in humility! Let’s look for ways to serve people and point them to our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ!

We need to be more than just hearers of the Word, we need to be doers of the Word! We need to choose to do more than just listen to what God has instructed us, we need to start living it out in the world around us so that in and through it all God will receive the praise, the honor, and the glory in Jesus’ name!

We need to love God and love people! We need to lead with love! We need to think  before we speak and consider if our words are true, helpful, inspiring, necessary, and kind!

The Lord is our shepherd!

1 The Lord is my shepherd; I shall not want.

2 He maketh me to lie down in green pastures: he leadeth me beside the still waters.

3 He restoreth my soul: he leadeth me in the paths of righteousness for his name’s sake.

4 Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil: for thou art with me; thy rod and thy staff they comfort me.

5 Thou preparest a table before me in the presence of mine enemies: thou anointest my head with oil; my cup runneth over.

6 Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life: and I will dwell in the house of the Lord for ever.

–Psalm 23

Have you been put into a position of leadership? Have you been put into a position where you are to provide for others? Have you been put into a position where you are to protect others? Have you been put into a situation where you are to encourage and restore others? Have you been put into a situation where you are to guide and correct others? Have you been put into a situation where you are to show others goodness and mercy?

How are you doing with this calling? Consider this warning:

‘This is what the Sovereign Lord says: Woe to you shepherds of Israel who only take care of yourselves! Should not shepherds take care of the flock? 3You eat the curds, clothe yourselves with the wool and slaughter the choice animals, but you do not take care of the flock. 4You have not strengthened the weak or healed the sick or bound up the injured. You have not brought back the strays or searched for the lost. You have ruled them harshly and brutally. 5So they were scattered because there was no shepherd, and when they were scattered they became food for all the wild animals. 6My sheep wandered over all the mountains and on every high hill. They were scattered over the whole earth, and no one searched or looked for them.
7“ ‘Therefore, you shepherds, hear the word of the Lord: 8As surely as I live, declares the Sovereign Lord, because my flock lacks a shepherd and so has been plundered and has become food for all the wild animals, and because my shepherds did not search for my flock but cared for themselves rather than for my flock, 9therefore, you shepherds, hear the word of the Lord: 10This is what the Sovereign Lord says: I am against the shepherds and will hold them accountable for my flock. I will remove them from tending the flock so that the shepherds can no longer feed themselves. I will rescue my flock from their mouths, and it will no longer be food for them.
11“ ‘For this is what the Sovereign Lord says: I myself will search for my sheep and look after them. 12As a shepherd looks after his scattered flock when he is with them, so will I look after my sheep. I will rescue them from all the places where they were scattered on a day of clouds and darkness. 13I will bring them out from the nations and gather them from the countries, and I will bring them into their own land. I will pasture them on the mountains of Israel, in the ravines and in all the settlements in the land. 14I will tend them in a good pasture, and the mountain heights of Israel will be their grazing land. There they will lie down in good grazing land, and there they will feed in a rich pasture on the mountains of Israel. 15I myself will tend my sheep and have them lie down, declares the Sovereign Lord. 16I will search for the lost and bring back the strays. I will bind up the injured and strengthen the weak, but the sleek and the strong I will destroy. I will shepherd the flock with justice.
17“ ‘As for you, my flock, this is what the Sovereign Lord says: I will judge between one sheep and another, and between rams and goats. 18Is it not enough for you to feed on the good pasture? Must you also trample the rest of your pasture with your feet? Is it not enough for you to drink clear water? Must you also muddy the rest with your feet? 19Must my flock feed on what you have trampled and drink what you have muddied with your feet?
20“ ‘Therefore this is what the Sovereign Lord says to them: See, I myself will judge between the fat sheep and the lean sheep. 21Because you shove with flank and shoulder, butting all the weak sheep with your horns until you have driven them away, 22I will save my flock, and they will no longer be plundered. I will judge between one sheep and another. 23I will place over them one shepherd, my servant David, and he will tend them; he will tend them and be their shepherd. 24I the Lord will be their God, and my servant David will be prince among them. I the Lord have spoken.
25“ ‘I will make a covenant of peace with them and rid the land of savage beasts so that they may live in the wilderness and sleep in the forests in safety. 26I will make them and the places surrounding my hill a blessing. I will send down showers in season; there will be showers of blessing. 27The trees will yield their fruit and the ground will yield its crops; the people will be secure in their land. They will know that I am the Lord, when I break the bars of their yoke and rescue them from the hands of those who enslaved them. 28They will no longer be plundered by the nations, nor will wild animals devour them. They will live in safety, and no one will make them afraid. 29I will provide for them a land renowned for its crops, and they will no longer be victims of famine in the land or bear the scorn of the nations. 30Then they will know that I, the Lord their God, am with them and that they, the Israelites, are my people, declares the Sovereign Lord. 31You are my sheep, the sheep of my pasture, and I am your God, declares the Sovereign Lord.’ ”

–from Ezekiel 34

Jesus came to set us free! Jesus came to break the bondage of sin! Jesus came to pay the ultimate price! Jesus came so that thru Him we could be saved!

We all face the choice! We all need to make the decision for ourselves! Choose wisely!

Live today pointing people to Jesus! Let’s reflect on this through today’s reading from the New Testament…How can we live our lives so that in and thru all we say and do  lift up God so that He will receive the praise, the honor, and the glory in Jesus’ name!

Instructions on Worship

1I urge, then, first of all, that petitions, prayers, intercession and thanksgiving be made for all people— 2for kings and all those in authority, that we may live peaceful and quiet lives in all godliness and holiness. 3This is good, and pleases God our Savior, 4who wants all people to be saved and to come to a knowledge of the truth. 5For there is one God and one mediator between God and mankind, the man Christ Jesus, 6who gave himself as a ransom for all people. This has now been witnessed to at the proper time. 7And for this purpose I was appointed a herald and an apostle—I am telling the truth, I am not lying—and a true and faithful teacher of the Gentiles.
8Therefore I want the men everywhere to pray, lifting up holy hands without anger or disputing. 9I also want the women to dress modestly, with decency and propriety, adorning themselves, not with elaborate hairstyles or gold or pearls or expensive clothes, 10but with good deeds, appropriate for women who profess to worship God.
11A woman should learn in quietness and full submission. 12I do not permit a woman to teach or to assume authority over a man; she must be quiet. 13For Adam was formed first, then Eve. 14And Adam was not the one deceived; it was the woman who was deceived and became a sinner. 15But women will be saved through childbearing—if they continue in faith, love and holiness with propriety.

–1 Timothy 2

How can we point people towards the truth? towards love? towards hope? towards grace?

The Man of Lawlessness

1Concerning the coming of our Lord Jesus Christ and our being gathered to him, we ask you, brothers and sisters, 2not to become easily unsettled or alarmed by the teaching allegedly from us—whether by a prophecy or by word of mouth or by letter—asserting that the day of the Lord has already come. 3Donʼt let anyone deceive you in any way, for that day will not come until the rebellion occurs and the man of lawlessness is revealed, the man doomed to destruction. 4He will oppose and will exalt himself over everything that is called God or is worshiped, so that he sets himself up in Godʼs temple, proclaiming himself to be God.
5Donʼt you remember that when I was with you I used to tell you these things? 6And now you know what is holding him back, so that he may be revealed at the proper time. 7For the secret power of lawlessness is already at work; but the one who now holds it back will continue to do so till he is taken out of the way. 8And then the lawless one will be revealed, whom the Lord Jesus will overthrow with the breath of his mouth and destroy by the splendor of his coming. 9The coming of the lawless one will be in accordance with how Satan works. He will use all sorts of displays of power through signs and wonders that serve the lie, 10and all the ways that wickedness deceives those who are perishing. They perish because they refused to love the truth and so be saved. 11For this reason God sends them a powerful delusion so that they will believe the lie 12and so that all will be condemned who have not believed the truth but have delighted in wickedness.

Stand Firm

13But we ought always to thank God for you, brothers and sisters loved by the Lord, because God chose you as first fruits to be saved through the sanctifying work of the Spirit and through belief in the truth. 14He called you to this through our gospel, that you might share in the glory of our Lord Jesus Christ.
15So then, brothers and sisters, stand firm and hold fast to the teachings we passed on to you, whether by word of mouth or by letter.
16May our Lord Jesus Christ himself and God our Father, who loved us and by his grace gave us eternal encouragement and good hope, 17encourage your hearts and strengthen you in every good deed and word.

–2 Thessalonians 2

 


Today’s Reading: Ezekiel 33, 34, Psalm 114, 1 Timothy 2, 2 Thessalonians 2

This entry was posted in Do, Gap, Grace, Hope, Lookout, Morning Bible Reading..., Say, Speak, Stand, Stand Firm, Stand for, Stand Out, Stand strong, Stand Up, True, Truth, Warning, Warnings and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply, love to hear from you...

