Don’t worry!


Worry changes nothing! Desert times allow for our roots to dig deeper! He has a plan and it is good! So don’t worry, put your trust in Him! Talk with Him! Pray! Prayer changes everything! It means we are putting God first! And when that happens good things are getting put in motion! “Seek first the kingdom of God and His righteousness…” aligns there but that isn’t where the first stops, it comes with a promises “and all these things will be added to you.” To understand all, we would need to go back before this verse, since this verse actually starts with “But“.

25“Therefore I tell you, do not be anxious about your life, what you will eat or what you will drink, nor about your body, what you will put on. Is not life more than food, and the body more than clothing? 26Look at the birds of the air: they neither sow nor reap nor gather into barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not of more value than they? 27And which of you by being anxious can add a single hour to his span of life? 28And why are you anxious about clothing? Consider the lilies of the field, how they grow: they neither toil nor spin, 29yet I tell you, even Solomon in all his glory was not arrayed like one of these. 30But if God so clothes the grass of the field, which today is alive and tomorrow is thrown into the oven, will he not much more clothe you, O you of little faith? 31Therefore do not be anxious, saying, ‘What shall we eat?’ or ‘What shall we drink?’ or ‘What shall we wear?’ 32For the Gentiles seek after all these things, and your heavenly Father knows that you need them all. 33 But seek first the kingdom of God and his righteousness, and all these things will be added to you. 34“Therefore do not be anxious about tomorrow, for tomorrow will be anxious for itself. Sufficient for the day is its own trouble.

–from Matthew 6 (ESV)

So don’t worry! Don’t be anxious! Put your focus on God and follow after Him! For we know He will take care of the rest!

Today’s reading comes Jeremiah, speaking of this plan of which I referenced earlier!

11For I know the plans I have for you, declares the Lord, plans for welfare and not for evil, to give you a future and a hope.

–from Jeremiah 29

Ever really read this and thought about what it is saying?

  • God knows the plans He has for you
  • God’s plans are for welfare and not for evil
  • God’s plans are to give you a future and a hope

So let’s not fret and be worried, but let’s put our hope and trust in Jesus!

Let’s put first things first and let God take care of the rest!

Where are you at? Can I pray for you? Leave me a comment and I will lift up a prayer for you.

Are you going through a transition and need encouragement, hope, help in seeing the plan? Do you have a plan in motion? Have you given it up to God to direct your steps? Have you turned to God and asked Him for wisdom through this tough time? Is your dependency on Him through all of this?


Today’s devotional (day 3) from Why Did I Lose My Job If God Loves Me? has an interesting read today, so let’s check it out:

The Game Plan

While I’m not exactly a trivia junkie, I’ve always been intrigued by odd facts and bits of information. For example, if I were to ask you which of the more than 31,000 verses in the Bible is the most popular, what would you guess? I’ll give you a hint: It’s the verse you often see on placards at football games. That’s right — John 3:16. “For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life.”

How do we know that’s the most popular verse in the Bible? The folks at BibleGateway.com have the ability to tally the most frequently searched Scripture references on their website. Not long ago they listed the top one hundred verses based on twenty-five million Bible passage searches over a two-month period. Scanning the list, I noticed that Jeremiah 29:11 came in second place: “‘For I know the plans I have for you,’ declares the Lord, ‘plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.’ ”

Did you notice how many times the word plans appears in that verse? Go ahead, count them. I was struck by the intentionality of the Lord to give us “hope and a future.” After all, a plan speaks of design, of forethought, of establishing a goal and an outcome. I believe it’s fair to say that God is revealing something about his character — that he is a loving, gracious heavenly Father who has our best interest in the center of his heart — while also modeling for us the virtue of having a master plan.

How appropriate for the focus of today’s reflection — namely, developing a “game plan” to manage your career transition. As I see it, if having and executing a plan to reach a desired outcome is modeled by God, then the process of craft- ing a plan of action to navigate a career transition ought to be important to me. In short, a game plan means proactively scheduling our time to achieve results. Without a plan, we flounder and wander aimlessly, with little progress to show for our activity by the end of the day or the end of the week.

Celebrated NFL football coach and NASCAR team owner, Joe Gibbs, puts it this way: “A win in football starts with a game plan. In racing it starts with a race plan. The same goes for life. You want to win? You need a winning game plan. My experience has taught me that the only winning game plan for life is God’s game plan — and it starts with the Bible.”

This is why you’ll notice that the first thing on the following seven-part game plan I created involves the Scriptures.

  1. I will start each day with at least seven minutes of Bible and/or devotional reading and prayer. (Feel free to increase this amount as soon as you are in the habit).
  2. I will meet with my spouse or roommate every week to update them on what I have been doing and on my job-search plans for the next week.
  3. I will select a companion with whom I can be totally honest and account- able, and meet with them weekly. (This should not be the person in point two.)
  4. I will set up at least one networking appointment each day and/or make a minimum of ten calls per day pertaining to my job search.
  5. I will attend at least one meeting pertaining to job skills per week at a local career center.
  6. I will spend at least two hours per week doing volunteer work, such as with a church, mission, ministry or nursing home.
  7. I will review and adjust my game plan on a weekly basis.

This is just a starting place. Whether you use my game plan or create your own, remember the words of Proverbs 16:3: “Commit to the Lord whatever you do, and he will establish your plans.”

 –from Why Did I Lose My Job If God Loves Me?

 

Leave a Reply, love to hear from you...

