Do you remember a time when you were called to step up?

You were created with a purpose for a purpose on purpose.

I remember a time when I was called to step up and become the president of a homeowners association for a community of over 10,000 people. I remember resisting and fighting against the call because I didn’t feel I was qualified to be able to do it. I remember finding excuses why I couldn’t and why I shouldn’t. Until the day when God gave me an ultimatum “You will be president or you will be nothing, you choose!” Nothing didn’t sound like a good option and so I told Him, “if you want me to step up and step out, then you are going to need to help me through every step.” It was amazing what happens when we are obedient to the call! It’s amazing what God is able to do in us, thru us, and to us when we are willing to answer the call! It’s taken me a couple tries as there was another time when He told me it was time for a change and I responded with “but why, I’m so comfortable here”. He knew what was yet to come and He realized what it would take to prepare me to step out. I was working at the same place since I graduated from university and was on a great team and was at a real high – mountain top experience. And boom, it happened, the org was dismantled, I was betrayed and learned about the power of forgiveness, I was betrayed again and this time forgave immediately so I would allow any bitter root to take hold, and then He prepared me to leave!

Today’s reading starts with Moses…

1Now Moses was keeping the flock of his father-in-law, Jethro, the priest of Midian, and he led his flock to the west side of the wilderness and came to Horeb, the mountain of God. 2And the angel of the Lord appeared to him in a flame of fire out of the midst of a bush. He looked, and behold, the bush was burning, yet it was not consumed. 3And Moses said, “I will turn aside to see this great sight, why the bush is not burned.” 4When the Lord saw that he turned aside to see, God called to him out of the bush, “Moses, Moses!” And he said, “Here I am.” 5Then he said, “Do not come near; take your sandals off your feet, for the place on which you are standing is holy ground.” 6And he said, “I am the God of your father, the God of Abraham, the God of Isaac, and the God of Jacob.” And Moses hid his face, for he was afraid to look at God.

7Then the Lord said, “I have surely seen the affliction of my people who are in Egypt and have heard their cry because of their taskmasters. I know their sufferings, 8and I have come down to deliver them out of the hand of the Egyptians and to bring them up out of that land to a good and broad land, a land flowing with milk and honey, to the place of the Canaanites, the Hittites, the Amorites, the Perizzites, the Hivites, and the Jebusites. 9And now, behold, the cry of the people of Israel has come to me, and I have also seen the oppression with which the Egyptians oppress them. 10Come, I will send you to Pharaoh that you may bring my people, the children of Israel, out of Egypt.” 11But Moses said to God, “Who am I that I should go to Pharaoh and bring the children of Israel out of Egypt?” 12He said, “But I will be with you, and this shall be the sign for you, that I have sent you: when you have brought the people out of Egypt, you shall serve God on this mountain.”
–from Exodus 3
I had a Moses moment and as today’s devotional so nicely puts it:
God called Moses to step up and lead people out of slavery, but Moses didn’t want to do it because he didn’t believe in himself. He didn’t think he had what it took. Moses continued to argue with God and wanted Him to find someone else. But, God chose Moses to be the leader. Why? Just because. Because He’s God and He can choose anyone He wants. It wasn’t because of anything special about Moses.
Where are you at? Are you battling against your calling? Are you battling against God’s purpose in your life? Are you doubting yourself? Are you afraid of what it could mean? Are you afraid of failure? Are you willing to trust God? Do you believe if He calls you to it, He will get you through it? Faith is the antidote to fear! Align yourself with God and do it His way!
Today’s devotional closes with the following things to ponder…
Where do you feel like you come up short? What areas of your life make you feel like you don’t have what it takes? Know this—God will use you for great things. He wants to. It doesn’t matter why you feel like you’re not good enough. Get over your insecurities and choose to let God use you. He wants you to step up and lead, but you need to choose to accept the call. So today, discover all the areas you feel like you come up short. Turn those over to God, and pray that God will use you in spite of those things.

–from Capacity: Student Leadership (Day 3)

5 thoughts on “Do you remember a time when you were called to step up?

Leave a Reply, love to hear from you...

