Listen, Understand, Act

Ever have to repeat yourself?


Ever wonder if they aren’t listening? Ever wonder if they are hoping you will change your story? Ever wonder why they just don’t get it? How do you respond? Will you ask the Holy Spirit to grant you wisdom on how to respond? Will you be receptive to the Holy Spirit and speak the words that He gives you to speak?

Today’s reading continues from yesterday’s with the questioning of the blind man Jesus healed…

26“What did he do to you?” they asked. “How did he cure you of your blindness?” 27“I have already told you,” he answered, “and you would not listen. Why do you want to hear it again? Maybe you, too, would like to be his disciples?” 28They insulted him and said, “You are that fellow’s disciple; but we are Moses’ disciples. 29We know that God spoke to Moses; as for that fellow, however, we do not even know where he comes from!” 30The man answered, “What a strange thing that is! You do not know where he comes from, but he cured me of my blindness! 31We know that God does not listen to sinners; he does listen to people who respect him and do what he wants them to do. 32Since the beginning of the world nobody has ever heard of anyone giving sight to a person born blind. 33Unless this man came from God, he would not be able to do a thing.” 34They answered, “You were born and brought up in sin—and you are trying to teach us?” And they expelled him from the synagogue.

Spiritual Blindness

35When Jesus heard what had happened, he found the man and asked him, “Do you believe in the Son of Man?” 36The man answered, “Tell me who he is, sir, so that I can believe in him!” 37Jesus said to him, “You have already seen him, and he is the one who is talking with you now.” 38“I believe, Lord!” the man said, and knelt down before Jesus. 39Jesus said, “I came to this world to judge, so that the blind should see and those who see should become blind.” 40Some Pharisees who were there with him heard him say this and asked him, “Surely you don’t mean that we are blind, too?” 41Jesus answered, “If you were blind, then you would not be guilty; but since you claim that you can see, this means that you are still guilty.”

–from John 9

Can you see? Can you see beyond what your eyes tell you? Can you believe beyond what your mind tells you? Can you see the physical world around you? Can you see the spiritual world around you? Do you realize what is going on? Do you realize what is taking place? Do you know what is missing? Seek the truth for the truth will set you free! Don’t be held back or held down by lies and the deception of the devil, but rather grab a hold of Jesus and live with and for Him! Allow the relationship with Jesus to grow and to develop! He is the way, the truth, and the life! There is no other way!

1I am writing this to you, my children, so that you will not sin; but if anyone does sin, we have someone who pleads with the Father on our behalf—Jesus Christ, the righteous one. 2And Christ himself is the means by which our sins are forgiven, and not our sins only, but also the sins of everyone. 3If we obey God’s commands, then we are sure that we know him. 4If we say that we know him, but do not obey his commands, we are liars and there is no truth in us. 5But if we obey his word, we are the ones whose love for God has really been made perfect. This is how we can be sure that we are in union with God: 6if we say that we remain in union with God, we should live just as Jesus Christ did.

The New Command

7My dear friends, this command I am writing you is not new; it is the old command, the one you have had from the very beginning. The old command is the message you have already heard. 8However, the command I now write you is new, because its truth is seen in Christ and also in you. For the darkness is passing away, and the real light is already shining.
9If we say that we are in the light, yet hate others, we are in the darkness to this very hour. 10If we love others, we live in the light, and so there is nothing in us that will cause someone else to sin. 11But if we hate others, we are in the darkness; we walk in it and do not know where we are going, because the darkness has made us blind.
12I write to you, my children, because your sins are forgiven for the sake of Christ. 13I write to you, fathers, because you know him who has existed from the beginning. I write to you, young people, because you have defeated the Evil One. 14I write to you, my children, because you know the Father. I write to you, fathers, because you know him who has existed from the beginning. I write to you, young people, because you are strong; the word of God lives in you, and you have defeated the Evil One. 15Do not love the world or anything that belongs to the world. If you love the world, you do not love the Father. 16Everything that belongs to the world—what the sinful self desires, what people see and want, and everything in this world that people are so proud of—none of this comes from the Father; it all comes from the world. 17The world and everything in it that people desire is passing away; but those who do the will of God live forever.

–from 1 John 2

There is a difference between loving people and loving their behaviors or actions. We need to love the people as God loves. We need to have a relationship so that we can speak life, hope, love, and truth into their lives. We need to be prepared and able to speak to the hope that is within us! We need to be speaking with gentleness and reverence! We need to be speaking with a clear conscience! It’s better to suffer for doing what is right than to receive the applause of men for doing what is wrong!

It’s all about relationships! Relationship with God! Relationship with people! Without the relationship there is a hole, something that is missing! Seek first the kingdom of God and His righteousness! Putting first things first! Don’t give up! Don’t lose hope! Don’t allow others to define or undermine you! Put your trust in God through the highs and the lows for if He brings you to it, He will bring you through it!

21-22I am innocent, but I no longer care. I am sick of living. Nothing matters; innocent or guilty, God will destroy us. 23When an innocent person suddenly dies, God laughs. 24God gave the world to the wicked. He made all the judges blind. And if God didn’t do it, who did? 25My days race by, not one of them good. 26My life passes like the swiftest boat, as fast as an eagle swooping down on a rabbit. 27-28If I smile and try to forget my pain, all my suffering comes back to haunt me; I know that God does hold me guilty. 29Since I am held guilty, why should I bother? 30No soap can wash away my sins. 31God throws me into a pit with filth, and even my clothes are ashamed of me. 32If God were human, I could answer him; we could go to court to decide our quarrel. 33But there is no one to step between us— no one to judge both God and me. 34Stop punishing me, God! Keep your terrors away! 35I am not afraid. I am going to talk because I know my own heart.

–from Job 9

Leave a Reply, love to hear from you...

