Do you really want to be free?

Chains are broken

Feeling tied down? Feeling chained up? Feeling held back? Looking for real freedom?

Are you holding onto anger? Are you holding onto bitterness? Are you holding onto resentment? Forgiveness is the key to freedom!

There is only one source of freedom and it is Jesus! Jesus is the answer for what people are looking for and asking about! Today’s reading brings us back to “who the son sets free is free indeed“, without truth (yes there is right and wrong, there is true and false, there is a line) you won’t know what’s real and how to live. Let’s check it out…

The Truth Will Set You Free

31So Jesus said to those who believed in him, “If you obey my teaching, you are really my disciples; 32you will know the truth, and the truth will set you free.” 33“We are the descendants of Abraham,” they answered, “and we have never been anybody’s slaves. What do you mean, then, by saying, ‘You will be free’?” 34Jesus said to them, “I am telling you the truth: everyone who sins is a slave of sin. 35A slave does not belong to a family permanently, but a son belongs there forever. 36If the Son sets you free, then you will be really free. 37I know you are Abraham’s descendants. Yet you are trying to kill me, because you will not accept my teaching. 38I talk about what my Father has shown me, but you do what your father has told you.” 39They answered him, “Our father is Abraham.” “If you really were Abraham’s children,” Jesus replied, “you would do the same things that he did. 40All I have ever done is to tell you the truth I heard from God, yet you are trying to kill me. Abraham did nothing like this! 41You are doing what your father did.” “God himself is the only Father we have,” they answered, “and we are his true children.” 42Jesus said to them, “If God really were your Father, you would love me, because I came from God and now I am here. I did not come on my own authority, but he sent me. 43Why do you not understand what I say? It is because you cannot bear to listen to my message. 44You are the children of your father, the Devil, and you want to follow your father’s desires. From the very beginning he was a murderer and has never been on the side of truth, because there is no truth in him. When he tells a lie, he is only doing what is natural to him, because he is a liar and the father of all lies. 45But I tell the truth, and that is why you do not believe me. 46Which one of you can prove that I am guilty of sin? If I tell the truth, then why do you not believe me? 47He who comes from God listens to God’s words. You, however, are not from God, and that is why you will not listen.”

–from John 8

Do you realize the forgiveness provided to us through Jesus? Do you realize the opportunity He provides us? Do you realize that the truth will set you free? We don’t have be tormented or held back from stepping into the light because of the lies of the devil but because of the truth and the hope of Jesus that is revealed to us. What is in the dark will one day be brought out into the light. You can either confess and give it up to God and turn from it, or deal with it when it gets brought out into the light! Dealing with it with God is the better option, sure it may be painful, but it will get rid of that root or foothold the devil is trying to use to manipulate and torment you.

Jesus came and gave His all so that we can be reconciled back to God! He took things into His own hands so that once and for all the power of sin and death would no longer have power. So grab a hold of that truth! Ask Him into your heart! Allow Him to lead you and guide you daily! It’s not about rituals and routines, its about building up a real relationship with Him! He loves you and cares about you! Talk to Him throughout the day! Talk to Him with your mind when you are facing tough decisions! Talk to Him when you are facing a need … BIG or small. If it is important to you then it is important to Him! Don’t worry about it, talk to Him! Worry changes nothing! Prayer changes everything! Prayer = talking with God! And take hope, not only did He provide the door so we can live in freedom, He is coming back…

The Promise of the Lord’s Coming

1My dear friends, this is now the second letter I have written you. In both letters I have tried to arouse pure thoughts in your minds by reminding you of these things. 2I want you to remember the words that were spoken long ago by the holy prophets, and the command from the Lord and Savior which was given you by your apostles. 3First of all, you must understand that in the last days some people will appear whose lives are controlled by their own lusts. They will make fun of you 4and will ask, “He promised to come, didn’t he? Where is he? Our ancestors have already died, but everything is still the same as it was since the creation of the world!” 5They purposely ignore the fact that long ago God gave a command, and the heavens and earth were created. The earth was formed out of water and by water, 6and it was also by water, the water of the flood, that the old world was destroyed. 7But the heavens and the earth that now exist are being preserved by the same command of God, in order to be destroyed by fire. They are being kept for the day when godless people will be judged and destroyed. 8But do not forget one thing, my dear friends! There is no difference in the Lord’s sight between one day and a thousand years; to him the two are the same. 9The Lord is not slow to do what he has promised, as some think. Instead, he is patient with you, because he does not want anyone to be destroyed, but wants all to turn away from their sins.

–from 2 Peter 3

Ever heard or seen people mock Christians? Ever heard or seen people make fun of the hope that is within us? Hurting people hurt people! It’s not a surprise! God is patient for His desire is that nobody should perish! We even see how His plan is that everyone would turn back to Him and not be destroyed, but rather spend eternity with Him not apart from Him.

Another translation of 2 Peter 3:9 says it this way:

9The Lord is not slow about His promise, as some count slowness, but is patient toward you, not wishing for any to perish but for all to come to repentance.

We also see from the Bible, God’s Word why Jesus came in John 3:

16For God loved the world so much that he gave his only Son, so that everyone who believes in him may not die but have eternal life. 17For God did not send his Son into the world to be its judge, but to be its savior. 18Those who believe in the Son are not judged; but those who do not believe have already been judged, because they have not believed in God’s only Son. 19This is how the judgment works: the light has come into the world, but people love the darkness rather than the light, because their deeds are evil. 20Those who do evil things hate the light and will not come to the light, because they do not want their evil deeds to be shown up. 21But those who do what is true come to the light in order that the light may show that what they did was in obedience to God.

So rather than spending eternity condemned. So rather than spending our lives in fear and doubt and worry. Let’s receive Jesus for as we read in Romans 6:23

For the wages of sin is death, but the gift of God is eternal life in Christ Jesus our Lord.

Let’s receive the gift! Everyone likes presents right? It’s a gift for now! It’s a gift forever!

You don’t get it? Why is … happening to you? Take to God! Ask Him for wisdom! Ask Him for vision! Ask Him to help you! We read how we are to consider it pure joy when we face trials of any kind because of the work it does in us to help us become complete and lacking nothing! Look at Job, it is ok to ask … God’s Word is God’s Word and He is good for it. Whenever I get to the book of Job I get this “oh oh” feeling, but then I reflect on the time when I learned forgiveness and how it allowed me to not take a hold of bitter roots or anger or frustration and could just forgive. I reflect on how on my last day working for the first company I ever worked for coming out of school that God timed it to align with the end of Job and so I hold onto Job 42:12. God’s timing is perfect! I was able to leave that job in peace! I was able to take hold of the Word of God for I know it is trustworthy and can be depended on. And so I am excited and pressing on into the 2nd half knowing God has even greater things yet to come!

Job

1-2If my troubles and griefs were weighed on scales, 3they would weigh more than the sands of the sea, so my wild words should not surprise you. 4Almighty God has shot me with arrows, and their poison spreads through my body. God has lined up his terrors against me. 5A donkey is content when eating grass, and a cow is quiet when eating hay. 6But who can eat flat, unsalted food? What taste is there in the white of an egg? 7I have no appetite for food like that, and everything I eat makes me sick. 8Why won’t God give me what I ask? Why won’t he answer my prayer? 9If only he would go ahead and kill me! 10If I knew he would, I would leap for joy, no matter how great my pain. I know that God is holy; I have never opposed what he commands. 11What strength do I have to keep on living? Why go on living when I have no hope? 12Am I made of stone? Is my body bronze? 13I have no strength left to save myself; there is nowhere I can turn for help. 14In trouble like this I need loyal friends—whether I’ve forsaken God or not. 15But you, my friends, you deceive me like streams that go dry when no rain comes. 16The streams are choked with snow and ice, 17but in the heat they disappear, and the stream beds lie bare and dry. 18Caravans get lost looking for water; they wander and die in the desert. 19Caravans from Sheba and Tema search, 20but their hope dies beside dry streams. 21You are like those streams to me, you see my fate and draw back in fear. 22Have I asked you to give me a gift or to bribe someone on my behalf 23or to save me from some enemy or tyrant? 24All right, teach me; tell me my faults. I will be quiet and listen to you. 25Honest words are convincing, but you are talking nonsense. 26You think I am talking nothing but wind; then why do you answer my words of despair? 27You would even roll dice for orphan slaves and make yourselves rich off your closest friends! 28Look me in the face. I won’t lie. 29You have gone far enough. Stop being unjust. Don’t condemn me. I’m in the right. 30But you think I am lying—you think I can’t tell right from wrong.

–from Job 6

So don’t grow weary in doing good works! Don’t get held down or held back by the lies of the devil, but rather find freedom through God! For whom the Son sets free is free indeed!

Leave a Reply, love to hear from you...

