Can you see where you are going?


Do you know where you are going? Can you see clearly? Are you able to move forward without fear or worry? Is there light? Are you in the dark? Are you able to see where you are going? Do you know where you came from?


Today’s morning reading shares the fact that there is a light that can open our eyes up to truth and a reality that can transform our lives forever…

Jesus the Light of the World

12Jesus spoke to the Pharisees again. “I am the light of the world,” he said. “Whoever follows me will have the light of life and will never walk in darkness.”
13The Pharisees said to him, “Now you are testifying on your own behalf; what you say proves nothing.”
14“No,” Jesus answered, “even though I do testify on my own behalf, what I say is true, because I know where I came from and where I am going. You do not know where I came from or where I am going. 15You make judgments in a purely human way; I pass judgment on no one. 16But if I were to do so, my judgment would be true, because I am not alone in this; the Father who sent me is with me. 17It is written in your Law that when two witnesses agree, what they say is true. 18I testify on my own behalf, and the Father who sent me also testifies on my behalf.”
19“Where is your father?” they asked him. “You know neither me nor my Father,” Jesus answered. “If you knew me, you would know my Father also.”
20Jesus said all this as he taught in the Temple, in the room where the offering boxes were placed. And no one arrested him, because his hour had not come.

–from John 8

Live your life in truth! Let your life be real, not like reality TV which seems to be so far from real. Consider how they speak of false teacher as we continue to read from today’s reading…

9And so the Lord knows how to rescue godly people from their trials and how to keep the wicked under punishment for the Day of Judgment, 10especially those who follow their filthy bodily lusts and despise God’s authority.

These false teachers are bold and arrogant, and show no respect for the glorious beings above; instead, they insult them. 11Even the angels, who are so much stronger and mightier than these false teachers, do not accuse them with insults in the presence of the Lord. 12But these people act by instinct, like wild animals born to be captured and killed; they attack with insults anything they do not understand. They will be destroyed like wild animals, 13and they will be paid with suffering for the suffering they have caused. Pleasure for them is to do anything in broad daylight that will satisfy their bodily appetites; they are a shame and a disgrace as they join you in your meals, all the while enjoying their deceitful ways! 14They want to look for nothing but the chance to commit adultery; their appetite for sin is never satisfied. They lead weak people into a trap. Their hearts are trained to be greedy. They are under God’s curse! 15They have left the straight path and have lost their way; they have followed the path taken by Balaam son of Beor, who loved the money he would get for doing wrong 16and was rebuked for his sin. His donkey spoke with a human voice and stopped the prophet’s insane action.

–from 2 Peter 2

Let’s be focused on the truth! Let’s keep our eyes on Jesus! Let’s allow our lives to be a revelation of our relationship with Jesus to the world around us! It’s all about that relationship! Let’s not be judgmental but rather lets be loving and compassionate so that we can help others to get thru where they are at and get to where God wants them to be. Consider this as we finish the reading for today…

The First Dialogue

(4.1—14.22)

Eliphaz

1-2Job, will you be annoyed if I speak? I can’t keep quiet any longer. 3You have taught many people and given strength to feeble hands. 4When someone stumbled, weak and tired, your words encouraged him to stand. 5Now it’s your turn to be in trouble, and you are too stunned to face it. 6You worshiped God, and your life was blameless; and so you should have confidence and hope. 7Think back now. Name a single case where someone righteous met with disaster. 8I have seen people plow fields of evil and plant wickedness like seed; now they harvest wickedness and evil. 9Like a storm, God destroys them in his anger. 10The wicked roar and growl like lions, but God silences them and breaks their teeth. 11Like lions with nothing to kill and eat, they die, and all their children are scattered. 12Once a message came quietly, so quietly I could hardly hear it. 13Like a nightmare it disturbed my sleep. 14I trembled and shuddered; my whole body shook with fear. 15A light breeze touched my face, and my skin crawled with fright. 16I could see something standing there; I stared, but couldn’t tell what it was. Then I heard a voice out of the silence: 17“Can anyone be righteous in the sight of God or be pure before his Creator? 18God does not trust his heavenly servants; he finds fault even with his angels. 19Do you think he will trust a creature of clay, a thing of dust that can be crushed like a moth? 20We may be alive in the morning, but die unnoticed before evening comes. 21All that we have is taken away; we die, still lacking wisdom.”

–from Job 4

Leave a Reply, love to hear from you...

