Do you understand authority?


How do you act when it comes to authority? Do you respect authority? Are you in alignment with Authority? Do you realize that the only reason the people who are in authority over you are there because God allowed it and purposed it? It may be the purpose is to point people back at God? It may be to clean up a situation? It may be something else, but there is a time and a reason for them being there. Here are a few Biblical examples…

Do you tend to come into alignment with those in authority over you? Do you tend to fear those in authority over you? What is your natural response when speaking to or interacting with those in authority over you?

Titus 3 puts it this way:

1Remind them to be subject to rulers, to authorities, to be obedient, to be ready for every good deed, 2to malign no one, to be peaceable, gentle, showing every consideration for all men.

1 Peter 2 puts it this way:

13Submit yourselves for the Lord’s sake to every human authority: whether to the emperor, as the supreme authority, 14or to governors, who are sent by him to punish those who do wrong and to commend those who do right. 15For it is God’s will that by doing good you should silence the ignorant talk of foolish people. 16Live as free people, but do not use your freedom as a cover-up for evil; live as God’s slaves. 17Show proper respect to everyone, love the family of believers, fear God, honor the emperor.

So how about you? Are you living a life under the authority of Jesus? Are you living a life under the authority of those God has placed over you? Are you living a life that will glorify God?

Today’s reading starts with an incredible story of someone who understands authority. Is your faith large enough that you trust in the Word of God?

Jesus Heals a Roman Officer’s Servant

(Matthew 8.5-13)
1When Jesus had finished saying all these things to the people, he went to Capernaum. 2A Roman officer there had a servant who was very dear to him; the man was sick and about to die. 3When the officer heard about Jesus, he sent some Jewish elders to ask him to come and heal his servant. 4They came to Jesus and begged him earnestly, “This man really deserves your help. 5He loves our people and he himself built a synagogue for us.” 6So Jesus went with them. He was not far from the house when the officer sent friends to tell him, “Sir, don’t trouble yourself. I do not deserve to have you come into my house, 7neither do I consider myself worthy to come to you in person. Just give the order, and my servant will get well. 8I, too, am a man placed under the authority of superior officers, and I have soldiers under me. I order this one, ‘Go!’ and he goes; I order that one, ‘Come!’ and he comes; and I order my slave, ‘Do this!’ and he does it.” 9Jesus was surprised when he heard this; he turned around and said to the crowd following him, “I tell you, I have never found faith like this, not even in Israel!” 10The messengers went back to the officer’s house and found his servant well. –from Luke 7

Will you submit to the authority? Will you serve the authority? Will you support he authority? Today’s reading continues with the joy of one who was given authority, praising the people who helped and supported him…

14But it was very good of you to help me in my troubles. 15You Philippians know very well that when I left Macedonia in the early days of preaching the Good News, you were the only church to help me; you were the only ones who shared my profits and losses. 16More than once when I needed help in Thessalonica, you sent it to me. 17It is not that I just want to receive gifts; rather, I want to see profit added to your account. 18Here, then, is my receipt for everything you have given me—and it has been more than enough! I have all I need now that Epaphroditus has brought me all your gifts. They are like a sweet-smelling offering to God, a sacrifice which is acceptable and pleasing to him. 19And with all his abundant wealth through Christ Jesus, my God will supply all your needs. 20To our God and Father be the glory forever and ever! Amen. –from Philippians 4

So will you pray for and celebrate with the people of God? Will you lift up His people in prayer? Will you glorify God in the life you live today?

1I was glad when they said to me, “Let us go to the Lord’s house.” 2And now we are here, standing inside the gates of Jerusalem! 3Jerusalem is a city restored in beautiful order and harmony. 4This is where the tribes come, the tribes of Israel, to give thanks to the Lord according to his command. 5Here the kings of Israel sat to judge their people. 6Pray for the peace of Jerusalem: “May those who love you prosper. 7May there be peace inside your walls and safety in your palaces.” 8For the sake of my relatives and friends I say to Jerusalem, “Peace be with you!” 9For the sake of the house of the Lord our God I pray for your prosperity. –from Psalm 122

For today’s topic I search for a featured image and found it on a page on this topic titled “Learning to respect authority

Leave a Reply, love to hear from you...

