How bad do you want it?


Would you seek out a cure? Would you seek out an answer? Would you beg to be healed? Would you submit yourself to get an answer? Do you believe it is possible? Do you believe that He can? Do you have faith to ask? Do you have faith to move?

Today’s reading speaks to the need as well as the desire of God to touch us right where we are at…

Jesus Heals a Man

(Matthew 8.1-4; Mark 1.40-45)
12Once Jesus was in a town where there was a man who was suffering from a dreaded skin disease. When he saw Jesus, he threw himself down and begged him, “Sir, if you want to, you can make me clean!” 13Jesus reached out and touched him. “I do want to,” he answered. “Be clean!” At once the disease left the man. 14Jesus ordered him, “Don’t tell anyone, but go straight to the priest and let him examine you; then to prove to everyone that you are cured, offer the sacrifice as Moses ordered.” 15But the news about Jesus spread all the more widely, and crowds of people came to hear him and be healed from their diseases. 16But he would go away to lonely places, where he prayed. — Luke 5:12-16

What do you believe He can do for you? What do you want him to do in your life? Will you ask? God’s Word tells us that we have not because we ask with the wrong motives. God’s Word tells us to Ask, Seek, Knock … are you doing anything about that want, that belief, the need? Do you know why?

7“Ask, and you will receive; seek, and you will find; knock, and the door will be opened to you. 8For everyone who asks will receive, and anyone who seeks will find, and the door will be opened to those who knock. 9Would any of you who are fathers give your son a stone when he asks for bread? 10Or would you give him a snake when he asks for a fish? 11As bad as you are, you know how to give good things to your children. How much more, then, will your Father in heaven give good things to those who ask him! 12“Do for others what you want them to do for you: this is the meaning of the Law of Moses and of the teachings of the prophets. –Matthew 7:7-12

We want to live God’s will right? We see in today’s reading this person did… “if you want to, you can make me clean“. The Lord’s prayer even begins with this message…”your kingdom come, your will be done on earth as it is in heaven“. So is your heart and mind in the right place? Why do you want it? Will you go to God for help? Will you ask? Will you seek? Will you knock? In order that you may get the answer and find a solution? What will provide your life to give a greater testimony of your faith? What will bring you greater joy? When you know you will spend eternity with God in heaven, isn’t there an incredible peace in knowing that whether you live or you die, you will be alright? Isn’t it amazing how God’s peace that goes beyond all understanding can cover your heart and your mind in ways that are better than anything we could ask or imagine?

Today’s reading continues…

21For what is life? To me, it is Christ. Death, then, will bring more. 22But if by continuing to live I can do more worthwhile work, then I am not sure which I should choose. 23I am pulled in two directions. I want very much to leave this life and be with Christ, which is a far better thing; 24but for your sake it is much more important that I remain alive. 25I am sure of this, and so I know that I will stay. I will stay on with you all, to add to your progress and joy in the faith, 26so that when I am with you again, you will have even more reason to be proud of me in your life in union with Christ Jesus. 27Now, the important thing is that your way of life should be as the gospel of Christ requires, so that, whether or not I am able to go and see you, I will hear that you are standing firm with one common purpose and that with only one desire you are fighting together for the faith of the gospel. 28Don’t be afraid of your enemies; always be courageous, and this will prove to them that they will lose and that you will win, because it is God who gives you the victory. 29For you have been given the privilege of serving Christ, not only by believing in him, but also by suffering for him. 30Now you can take part with me in the battle. It is the same battle you saw me fighting in the past, and as you hear, the one I am fighting still. –Philippians 1:21-30

Don’t be afraid! Always be courageous! Take confidence in knowing that Jesus has already won the victory! In our weakness God’s strength is revealed. As I consider all these words, the son “You make me brave” comes to mind. Don’t give up hope! Trust God! Do what is right! There is such thing as right and wrong! Trust in God’s constant love! If you aren’t sure, turn to God for wisdom and direction.

Today’s Psalm speaks this over us with …

121I have done what is right and good; don’t abandon me to my enemies!
122Promise that you will help your servant; don’t let the arrogant oppress me!
123My eyes are tired from watching for your saving help, for the deliverance you promised.
124Treat me according to your constant love, and teach me your commands.
125I am your servant; give me understanding, so that I may know your teachings.
126Lord, it is time for you to act, because people are disobeying your law.
127I love your commands more than gold, more than the finest gold.
128And so I follow all your instructions; I hate all wrong ways.

–Psalm 119:121-128

Leave a Reply, love to hear from you...

