Who is in charge?


Do you know where authority is? Do you know where authority comes from? Did you know there is alignment within the chain of authority? Did you know there is supposed to be? Did you know there is safety and security and power in staying in alignment?

Today’s reading starts here…

The Question about Jesus’ Authority

(Matthew 21.23-27; Luke 20.1-8)
27They arrived once again in Jerusalem. As Jesus was walking in the Temple, the chief priests, the teachers of the Law, and the elders came to him 28and asked him, “What right do you have to do these things? Who gave you such right?” 29Jesus answered them, “I will ask you just one question, and if you give me an answer, I will tell you what right I have to do these things. 30Tell me, where did John’s right to baptize come from: was it from God or from human beings?” 31They started to argue among themselves: “What shall we say? If we answer, ‘From God,’ he will say, ‘Why, then, did you not believe John?’ 32But if we say, ‘From human beings …’” (They were afraid of the people, because everyone was convinced that John had been a prophet.) 33So their answer to Jesus was, “We don’t know.” Jesus said to them, “Neither will I tell you, then, by what right I do these things.” — from Mark 11:27-33

Do you question other’s authority? Why? Do you know where they received the authority? Are you confident enough to speak to it? Don’t let fear hold you back from speaking the truth! Don’t let fear cause you to miss out on the truth! Courage is resistance to fear, mastery of fear, not absence of fear. Who gave Jesus authority but God the Father! Who gives authority to the governing but God? So after the question of who is in charge, we need to realize why they are in charge!

So with God being the ultimate authority, how will you respond to Him? Are you in alignment and willing to put His ways ahead of your own? Who do you allow to get final say? Will you miss out because of fear rather than gain wisdom by pressing forward? Will God’s grace be wasted? Will you allow the time to be a  time of favor from God? Will you allow the time to be a time when you are saved? Will you be one who removes obstacles or allows others to trip over them? Will you live a way that demonstrates patience? Will you lead as a servant that others may come to see what love looks like in and through you?

Today’s reading continues…

1In our work together with God, then, we beg you who have received God’s grace not to let it be wasted. 2Hear what God says: “When the time came for me to show you favor, I heard you; when the day arrived for me to save you, I helped you.” Listen! This is the hour to receive God’s favor; today is the day to be saved! 3We do not want anyone to find fault with our work, so we try not to put obstacles in anyone’s way. 4Instead, in everything we do we show that we are God’s servants by patiently enduring troubles, hardships, and difficulties. 5We have been beaten, jailed, and mobbed; we have been overworked and have gone without sleep or food. 6By our purity, knowledge, patience, and kindness we have shown ourselves to be God’s servants—by the Holy Spirit, by our true love, 7by our message of truth, and by the power of God. We have righteousness as our weapon, both to attack and to defend ourselves. 8We are honored and disgraced; we are insulted and praised. We are treated as liars, yet we speak the truth; 9as unknown, yet we are known by all; as though we were dead, but, as you see, we live on. Although punished, we are not killed; 10although saddened, we are always glad; we seem poor, but we make many people rich; we seem to have nothing, yet we really possess everything. 11Dear friends in Corinth! We have spoken frankly to you; we have opened our hearts wide. 12It is not we who have closed our hearts to you; it is you who have closed your hearts to us. 13I speak now as though you were my children: show us the same feelings that we have for you. Open your hearts wide! — from 2 Corinthians 6:1-13

So how will you live? How will you serve? How will you shine? Will your life be a testimony to who God is? Will your life be a testimony of Christ in you? How will you live?

Warning against Pagan Influences

14Do not try to work together as equals with unbelievers, for it cannot be done. How can right and wrong be partners? How can light and darkness live together? 15How can Christ and the Devil agree? What does a believer have in common with an unbeliever? 16How can God’s temple come to terms with pagan idols? For we are the temple of the living God! As God himself has said, “I will make my home with my people and live among them; I will be their God, and they shall be my people.” 7And so the Lord says, “You must leave them and separate yourselves from them. Have nothing to do with what is unclean, and I will accept you. 18I will be your father, and you shall be my sons and daughters, says the Lord Almighty.” — from 2 Corinthians 6:14-18

Are you willing to walk in alignment with God the Father? You can trust Him!

A King’s Promise

1My song is about loyalty and justice, and I sing it to you, O Lord.
2My conduct will be faultless. When will you come to me? I will live a pure life in my house
3and will never tolerate evil. I hate the actions of those who turn away from God; I will have nothing to do with them.
4I will not be dishonest and will have no dealings with evil.
5I will get rid of anyone who whispers evil things about someone else; I will not tolerate anyone who is proud and arrogant.
6I will approve of those who are faithful to God and will let them live in my palace. Those who are completely honest will be allowed to serve me.
7No liar will live in my palace; no hypocrite will remain in my presence.
8Day after day I will destroy the wicked in our land; I will expel all who are evil from the city of the Lord.
–from Psalm 101

Leave a Reply, love to hear from you...

