Ps 31:1 – I have come to you for protection; don’t let me be put to shame. Rescue me, for you always do what is right.


Luke 22:39-71

39 Leaving there, he went, as he so often did, to Mount Olives. The disciples followed him. 40 When they arrived at the place, he said, “Pray that you don’t give in to temptation.41 He pulled away from them about a stone’s throw, knelt down, and prayed, 42 “Father, remove this cup from me. But please, not what I want. What do you want?” 43 At once an angel from heaven was at his side, strengthening him. 44 He prayed on all the harder. Sweat, wrung from him like drops of blood, poured off his face. 45 He got up from prayer, went back to the disciples and found them asleep, drugged by grief. 46 He said, “What business do you have sleeping? Get up. Pray so you won’t give in to temptation.”

47 No sooner were the words out of his mouth than a crowd showed up, Judas, the one from the Twelve, in the lead. He came right up to Jesus to kiss him. 48 Jesus said, “Judas, you would betray the Son of Man with a kiss?” 49 When those with him saw what was happening, they said, “Master, shall we fight?” 50 One of them took a swing at the Chief Priest’s servant and cut off his right ear. 51 Jesus said, “Let them be. Even in this.” Then, touching the servant’s ear, he healed him. 52 Jesus spoke to those who had come – high priests, Temple police, religion leaders: “What is this, jumping me with swords and clubs as if I were a dangerous criminal? 53 Day after day I’ve been with you in the Temple and you’ve not so much as lifted a hand against me. But do it your way – it’s a dark night, a dark hour.”

54 Arresting Jesus, they marched him off and took him into the house of the Chief Priest. Peter followed, but at a safe distance. 55 In the middle of the courtyard some people had started a fire and were sitting around it, trying to keep warm. 56 One of the serving maids sitting at the fire noticed him, then took a second look and said, “This man was with him!” 57 He denied it, “Woman, I don’t even know him.” 58 A short time later, someone else noticed him and said, “You’re one of them.” But Peter denied it: “Man, I am not.” 59 About an hour later, someone else spoke up, really adamant: “He’s got to have been with him! He’s got ‘Galilean’ written all over him.” 60 Peter said, “Man, I don’t know what you’re talking about.” At that very moment, the last word hardly off his lips, a rooster crowed. 61 Just then, the Master turned and looked at Peter. Peter remembered what the Master had said to him: “Before the rooster crows, you will deny me three times.” 62 He went out and cried and cried and cried.

63 The men in charge of Jesus began poking fun at him, slapping him around. 64 They put a blindfold on him and taunted, “Who hit you that time?” 65 They were having a grand time with him. 66 When it was morning, the religious leaders of the people and the high priests and scholars all got together and brought him before their High Council. 67 They said, “Are you the Messiah?” 68 If I asked what you meant by your question, you wouldn’t answer me. 69 So here’s what I have to say: From here on the Son of Man takes his place at God’s right hand, the place of power.70 They all said, “So you admit your claim to be the Son of God?” “You’re the ones who keep saying it,” he said. 71 But they had made up their minds, “Why do we need any more evidence? We’ve all heard him as good as say it himself.”

Genesis 40

1 As time went on, it happened that the cupbearer and the baker of the king of Egypt crossed their master, the king of Egypt. 2 Pharaoh was furious with his two officials, the head cupbearer and the head baker, 3 and put them in custody under the captain of the guard; it was the same jail where Joseph was held. 4 The captain of the guard assigned Joseph to see to their needs.

5 the king’s cupbearer and baker, while being held in the jail, both had a dream on the same night, each dream having its own meaning. 6 When Joseph arrived in the morning, he noticed that they were feeling low. 7 So he asked them, the two officials of Pharaoh who had been thrown into jail with him, “What’s wrong? Why the long faces?” 8 They said, “We dreamed dreams and there’s no one to interpret them.” Joseph said, “Don’t interpretations come from God? Tell me the dreams.” 9 First the head cupbearer told his dream to Joseph: “In my dream there was a vine in front of me 10 with three branches on it: It budded, blossomed, and the clusters ripened into grapes. 11 I was holding Pharaoh’s cup; I took the grapes, squeezed them into Pharaoh’s cup, and gave the cup to Pharaoh.” 12 Joseph said, “Here’s the meaning. The three branches are three days. 13 Within three days, Pharaoh will get you out of here and put you back to your old work – you’ll be giving Pharaoh his cup just as you used to do when you were his cupbearer. 14 Only remember me when things are going well with you again – tell Pharaoh about me and get me out of this place. 15 I was kidnapped from the land of the Hebrews. And since I’ve been here, I’ve done nothing to deserve being put in this hole.16 When the head baker saw how well Joseph’s interpretation turned out, he spoke up: “My dream went like this: I saw three wicker baskets on my head; 17 the top basket had assorted pastries from the bakery and birds were picking at them from the basket on my head.” 18 Joseph said, “This is the interpretation: The three baskets are three days; 19 within three days Pharaoh will take off your head, impale you on a post, and the birds will pick your bones clean.”

20 And sure enough, on the third day it was Pharaoh’s birthday and he threw a feast for all his servants. He set the head cupbearer and the head baker in places of honor in the presence of all the guests. 21 Then he restored the head cupbearer to his cupbearing post; he handed Pharaoh his cup just as before. 22 And then he impaled the head baker on a post, following Joseph’s interpretations exactly. 23 But the head cupbearer never gave Joseph another thought; he forgot all about him.

Psalms 31

1 I run to you, God; I run for dear life. Don’t let me down! Take me seriously this time! 2 Get down on my level and listen, and please – no procrastination! Your granite cave a hiding place, your high cliff aerie a place of safety. 3 You’re my cave to hide in, my cliff to climb. Be my safe leader, be my true mountain guide. 4 Free me from hidden traps; I want to hide in you. 5 I’ve put my life in your hands. You won’t drop me, you’ll never let me down. 6 I hate all this silly religion, but you, God, I trust. 7 I’m leaping and singing in the circle of your love; you saw my pain, you disarmed my tormentors, 8 You didn’t leave me in their clutches but gave me room to breathe.

9 Be kind to me, God – I’m in deep, deep trouble again. I’ve cried my eyes out; I feel hollow inside. 10 My life leaks away, groan by groan; my years fade out in sighs. My troubles have worn me out, turned my bones to powder. 11 To my enemies I’m a monster; I’m ridiculed by the neighbors. My friends are horrified; they cross the street to avoid me. 12 They want to blot me from memory, forget me like a corpse in a grave, discard me like a broken dish in the trash. 13 The street-talk gossip has me “criminally insane”! Behind locked doors they plot how to ruin me for good. 14 Desperate, I throw myself on you: you are my God! 15 Hour by hour I place my days in your hand, safe from the hands out to get me. 16 Warm me, your servant, with a smile; save me because you love me. 17 Don’t embarrass me by not showing up; I’ve given you plenty of notice. Embarrass the wicked, stand them up, leave them stupidly shaking their heads as they drift down to hell. 18 Gag those loudmouthed liars who heckle me, your follower, with jeers and catcalls.

19 What a stack of blessing you have piled up for those who worship you, Ready and waiting for all who run to you to escape an unkind world. 20 You hide them safely away from the opposition. As you slam the door on those oily, mocking faces, you silence the poisonous gossip. 21 Blessed God! His love is the wonder of the world. 22 I panicked. “Out of sight, out of mind,” I said. But you heard me say it, you heard and listened. 23 Love God, all you saints; God takes care of all who stay close to him, But he pays back in full those arrogant enough to go it alone. 24 Be brave. Be strong. Don’t give up. Expect God to get here soon.

Comments

– 1/31/2005 4:26:45 PM

You mean Elisa? Yeah.. ..I’m going tomorrow to help the band and then I’mma go next sunday to see them perform. We’ll see after that.

– 1/31/2005 4:28:03 PM

And.. Benvolio…. He’s a character in Shakespeare’s Romeo and Juliet.

Leave a Reply, love to hear from you...

