How do you spend your time and money? Are you willing to give of yourself?


Do you decide in your heart what you are going to do?

Do you then do it with all you have? Cheerfully? With great energy and joy? Might it even be described as hilarious?


Are you generous? How? When?

As Christians, we should be generous people, giving whatever we can whenever we can. And that doesn’t just mean money, we can give help, encouragement, time, talents and forgiveness.

Are you being selfless instead of selfish? We need to do things because we want to, not because we feel we have to.

This means we can’t let selfishness get in the way. A lot of people are stingy, clinging to what they have and afraid to give it up. Others aren’t stingy in their actions, but they are stingy in their hearts, giving because they feel obligated, not because they really want to.

But this isn’t the way God calls us to give. Second Corinthians 9:7 tells us, “God loves (He takes pleasure in, prizes above other things, and is unwilling to abandon or to do without) a cheerful (joyous, ‘prompt to do it’) giver [whose heart is in his giving].”
If you think about it, when we give our lives to God, everything we have is His anyway, it no longer belongs to us. We should be givers, using our resources the way He wants us to.

Be cheerful. Be hilarious to others in how you live. Go above and beyond.

Give cheerfully today. It pleases God, and those who give cheerfully are happy, fulfilled, and highly effective.

 

– Notes from today’s devotional


Be Generous and Cheerful

7 You must each decide in your heart how much to give. And don’t give reluctantly or in response to pressure. “For God loves a person who gives cheerfully.”

2 Corinthians 9:7

Prayer Starter:

God, I make up my mind and purpose in my heart right now to be a cheerful giver. Show me how I can generously give to You and the people in my life today.


Fearful to Fearless

And why do you worry about clothes? Look at how the lilies in the field grow. They don’t work or make clothes for themselves. But I tell you that even Solomon with his riches was not dressed as beautifully as one of these flowers. God clothes the grass in the field, which is alive today but tomorrow is thrown into the fire. So you can be even more sure that God will clothe you. Don’t have so little faith!

Matthew 6:28-30 (NCV)

Biblical Truth:

Cast your cares on God, trust in Him who is able to provide all things, for things of this world fade and wither away.


Chronological


Heavenly Father,
I thank You for the incredible blessings, wisdom, discernment, and hope that is in my life. I praise You Lord for the truth of the power of forgiveness is both to give and to receive. I thank You Lord for the lesson You gave me about the weight that is lifted by forgiving others rather than allowing bitterness and anger to build up and provide a foothold that the devil can use to torment and distract me from the better and bigger things in life that You have planned and purposed in advance. So Lord, today I lift up my life and my family to You and I ask for forgiveness, as I know we aren’t perfect. I next look to You Lord and forgive those who have hurt, misspoke, and angered me and my family, Lord, You are incredible and so I release it and give it all up to You. As we walk out today, I know that You will and have made us stronger and wiser through every situation. I know that You have plans and purposes that are bigger and more incredible than we could ever ask or imagine. May Your hand and Your voice guide and speak to us daily and help us to walk through each and every situation that comes before us with the grace and mercy, the joy and hope, the love and encouragement that we receive from You so that those around us may come to know You and trust in You daily, in Jesus’ name. I pray. Amen.

This entry was posted in Daily Prayer, Devotional Time, Fearful to fearless, Morning Bible Reading..., Prayer Request, Testimony. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to How do you spend your time and money? Are you willing to give of yourself?

  1. Daniel says:

    Howdy, i read your weblog occasionally and i own a similar 1 and i was just questioning should you get a lot of spam comments? If so how do you avoid it, any plugin or anything you are able to advise? I get so considerably lately it is driving me mad so any assistance is quite considerably appreciated.

    • Phil says:

      WordPress is pretty good at capturing and filtering out “spam” and so I just need to work through that content. The obvious stuff gets deleted, the not as obvious depends on the content of the comment as well as the links it references. Hope this helps…Not sure if you are using WordPress too or not, but it is definitely helping to ensure that I don’t have spam posted and have a good way to filter through it. Thanks for visiting and for the comment.

Leave a Reply

